Moorefield advance in Leinster Club

Brilliant opening half sets up win

Tommy Callaghan


Tommy Callaghan


Moorefield advance in Leinster Club

Dary Flynn gets to the ball in front of Dennis Corroon

Moorefield advanced to the quarter final of the Leinster Club with a fully deserved six point win over Mullingar Shamrocks in Mullingar this afternoon.

A blistering opening half from the winners set this up with Adam Tyrrell scoring 2-4 and Cian OConnor absolutely outstanding along with Ronan Sweeney.

Moorefield led 2-5 to 0-4 at the break and it looked over but in  fairness to Mullingar them plugged away, a penalty got them back into the game but in the end Moorefield had too much in the tank, winning 2-9 to 1-6 and booking a meeting with Portlaoise in two weeks time in Newbridgel

Shamrocks, Tye Adamson 0-2 (1 free), Dennis Carroon 0-2 (free), Dean Moore 1-1 (penalty, free), Paddy Fagan 0-1.

Moorefield, Adam Tyrrell 2-4 (1 free), Eanna O'Connor 0-3 (2 frees), Niall Hurley Lynch 0-1, Ronan sweeney 0-1.

MULLINGAR SHAMROCKS: Philly Shaw; Eddie Moore, Kieran Gavin, Killian Daly; Paddy Joyce, Michael Curley, Daragh Daly; Dennis Corroon, Paddy Fagan; Tye Adamson, Donal O'Donogh7e, Alan Cashman; Efe Siode, Dean Moore, Simon Quinn. Subs: Billy Flynn for Paddy Joyce (half time); Aaron Purcell for Alan Cashman (37 minutes); Ciaran Curley for Tyr Adamson (40 minutes).

MOOREFIELD: Thomas Corley; Liam Callaghan, Liam Healy, Adam Sweeney; Kevin Murnaghan, Anthony Durney, James Murray cpt. Daryl Flynn, Aaron Masterson; Cian O'Connor, Aaron Mullins, Eanna O'Connor; Ronan Sweeney, Adam Tyrrell, Niall Hurley-Lynch. Subs: David Whyte for Jame Murray (24 minutes); Mark McDermott for Niall Jurley Lynch (39 minutes); Ian Meehan for Roli Sweeney (45 minutes); Eddie Heavey for Adam Tyrrell (48 minutes); Ryan Moore for Aaron Masterson (51 mijutes); Sean Dempsey for Eanna O'Connor (63 minutes).

REFEREE: David Gough.