03 Dec 2021

Kildare footballer on TG4's Underdogs team to play Dublin

Moorefield man representing the Lilywhites

Kildare footballer on TG4's Underdogs team to play Dublin

The Underdogs team

Moorefield's Anthony Durney has made it on to the Underdogs team to play Dublin later this month.

TG4 is proud to announce that the Underdogs will be taking on the four time All-Ireland Champions.

In this ultimate challenge game, the Underdogs of Gaelic football will be taking on the Top Dogs. GAA Beo will provide live coverage for the series finale from Parnell Park in Dublin next Friday, October 19.  The broadcast will start at 7:20pm, with match throw-in at 7:45pm.

The Underdogs team is managed by former Galway Captain Ray Silke, former Cork Ladies Footballer Valerie Mulcahy and former Kerry footballer Paul Galvin. The Underdogs is a unique group of players, from different GAA clubs all across the country and these footballers have never played at senior intercounty championship level before.

Over the last few weeks we have seen the players’ trials and training and listened to them tell their own stories on the Underdogs series on TG4. 

Now, after months of preparation and intense training they are ready to take on the Dubs. The original Underdogs series began on TG4 in 2003 and launched the careers of a number of All-Ireland champions, not least Kerry powerhouse Kieran Donaghy and Cork’s Pearse O’Neill.

Dublin Manager Jim Gavin said, “I think the concept of Underdogs is a great one and we're looking forward to playing this unique game under lights in Parnell Park, against this team of aspiring inter-county footballers”.

TG4’s Head of Sport Rónán Ó Coisdealbha said: “TG4 are very proud of our association with the Underdogs series which featured on our station for the first time in 2003. We would like to thank all the Underdogs players and management, Dublin GAA and the GAA in Croke Park for all their support. This is a unique opportunity for the selected Underdogs players and hopefully we will see some footballers who might get the opportunity to play for their county in the near future. We are delighted to be involved in this unique experience and look forward to seeing how the Underdogs progress in the coming weeks and in the Final against Dublin.”

The Underdogs panel are as follows:
Adam Wilson                          (Scoil Uí Chonaill, Co. Dublin),
Anthony Durney                     (Moorefield GAA, Co. Kildare)
Blake Forkan                           (St. Eunan’s, Co. Donegal originally from Killtimagh, Co. Mayo)
Calum Gallagher                     (Naomh Bríd, Co. Donegal)
Ciarán Mac Fhearghusa          (Na Gaeil Óga, Co. Dublin)
Colm Flynn                              (Ballymahon GAA, Co. Longford)
Conor McKenna                      (Éire Óg Doire Achaidh, Co. Antrim)
Cormac Doohan                      (Ballaghaderreen GAA, Co. Roscommon)
Daragh Murrin                        (Duninkeely, Co. Donegal)
Darragh O’Shea                       (Ballydonoghue GAA, Co. Kerry)
DJ Murphy                               (Gneeveguilla GAA, Co. Kerry)
Eamon O’Donoghue               (Padraig Pearses, Co. Roscommon)
Enda Fleming                          (Corofin, Co. Galway)
Fintan Ó Cuanaigh                  (St. James, Co. Galway)
Gary O’Daly                             (St. Mary’s, Co. Leitrim)
Graham Heavey                      (Ballyboden St. Enda’s, Co. Dublin)
Michael Molloy                       (John Mitchel’s Liverpool originally from Co.Donegal)
Micheál McCarville                 (Scotstown GAA, Co. Monaghan)
Niall Canning                           (Drumcliff Rosses Point, Co. Sligo)
Nigel Rabbitt                           (Northern Gaels, Co. Longford)
Richie Greene                         (Athlone GAA, Co. Westmeath)
Ronan O’Neill                          (Derrytresk GFC, Co. Tyrone)
Ruairi Cunningham                 (Clonmore Robert Emmets, Co. Armagh)
Ryan Treanor                          (Thomas Clarke’s, Co. Tyrone)
Sam McCurdy                          (O’Dwyers GAA, Co. Dublin)
Seán Brady                              (St. Treas Ballymaguigan, Co. Derry)
Stephen Harford                     (Round Towers, Co. Dublin)
Steven Scallan                         (O’Loughlin Gaels, Co. Kilkenny)
Trevor Murtagh                      (St. Barry’s, Co. Roscommon)

The Underdogs series continues to air on Thursday nights at 9:30pm, and repeated on Saturday at 7:45pm and is available on the TG4 Player

Tickets for the game are available on

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.