Derrinturn man takes top prize in Kildare Ploughing Championships

Ploughing Championships

Derrinturn man takes top prize in Kildare Ploughing Championships

Noel Cummins, Rathcoffey, and Derek Kelly, Carbury. Photo: Tony Keane

Derek Kelly took the title of Kildare Ploughing Champion at Newtown Lane, Milltown on Saturday, February 13.

The weather on the day was excellent, despite a few showers on Friday, we were blessed on the day with blue skies, dry weather and good soil conditions.

This year’s competition saw a similar number of people as other years attending to compete in all 14 classes. 39 competitors turned out representing counties Kildare, Dublin, Meath, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath, Louth, Laois and Carlow. The high attendance of competitors in all classes gave a good variety of skills to see on the day. The spectators had an excellent day out as there was a pairs of horses present along with iron horses, vintage ploughing, conventional and reversible ploughing.

The match was held on the lands of Donal Gorry, Milltown. The ploughing was judged by six superb judges, Michael Mahon, Offaly; Liam White, Offaly; Pat McKeown, Louth; Hugh O’ Reilly, Louth; Lennie Mathews, Offaly and Kevin Bracken, Offaly.

The Match was held under strict NPA rules and was well stewarded on the day. We were provided with excellent service and a hot meal by Sarfields GAA, Newbridge, before the presentation of cups and prizes, which was greatly appreciated by all competitors and helpers after a hard days work.

In the Senior class Eamon Tracy beat last year’s winner Matt Duffy, who came Third. The match results are as follows:

Senior Open – 1st Eamon Tracy, 2nd Pat Brandon, 3rd Christy Carton.

2nd Senior – 1st Padraig Brandon, 2nd Enda McKeown, 3rd Eamon McKeown

Kildare Championship – 1st Derek Kelly, 2nd Michael Kehoe , 3rd Fergal Byrne

Under 28 – 1st Sean Tracey, 2nd David Owen

Macra – 1st Darragh Barron

Farmerette – 1st Maria Dunne

¾ Furrow – 1st Kieran Dunne

Vintage Trailed – 1st Peter Duffy , 2nd Bobby Owen, 3rd David Gratton

Vintage Mounted – 1st Oliver Smith, 2nd Gerry Byrne, 3rd Ray Clancy

Single Furrow – 1st Bruno McCormack 2nd Jimmy Pender

Horses – 1st Joe Egan

Iron Horses – 1st Gavin Duffy, 2nd Richard Duffy, 3rd J.J. Farrell

Senior Reversible – 1st Carl Davis 125

Under 28 Reversible – 1st Cormac Duggan

Kildare Ploughing would like to thank everybody who came to take part and to watch and a special thanks to our great sponsors and all who helped with the successful running of the County match this year.

Best of luck to all the competitors who qualified on Saturday to represent Kildare in this years All Ireland Ploughing Championships in Offaly in September 2016.

– report courtesy of Denis Dunne

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.