Lilies come good after poor start

Kildare minor hurlers advance

Tommy Callaghan


Tommy Callaghan


Kildare minor hurlers advance

Rian Monaghan, Kildare

Kildare minor hurlers opened their Leinster MHC campaign with a well deserved eight point win over Carlow at St Conleth’s Park, this afternoon (Saturday April 8).

In a game that Carlow dominated early on Kildare hit back with two goals before the break to lead at half time 2-8 to 0-10.

The Lilies dominated the second half, adding1-9 with a late Carlow goal putting a bit of a gloss on the final results for the visitors.. Final score Kildare 3-17 Carlow 1-15.

After the final whistle a skirmish blew up with players from both sides involved. In the end it seemed referee Andy Devine dished out three red cards, two to Kildare and one to Carlow.


Kildare, Brian Tobin 2-0, Ciarán Robin 0-10 (7 frees); Seán Cullen 1-2, Kevin Aherne 0-2, Liam O’Flynn 0-1, James Dolan 0-1, Luca Conroy 0-1,

Carlow, Jon Nolan 0-9 (7 frees), Jason O’Neill 1-6 (1 free),



Mark Doyle (Clane); Eoghan Prizeman (Naas), Richie Hogan (Naas), Aaron Deegan (ÉÓCC); Harry Carroll (Naas), James Dolan (ÉÓCC), Luca Conroy (Naas); Ian Blackburne (Naas), Seán Mac Donncha (Naas); Rian Monaghan (Naas), Ciarán Robin cpt. (Naas), Liam O’Flynn (Celbridge); Kevin Aherne (Naas), Seán Cullen (Naas), Brian Tobin (Naas). Subs: Paul Hogan (Celbridge) for Richie Hogan (6 minutes): Seán Whelan (Ardclough) for Brian Tobin (51 minutes): Ruairí Goodfellow (Naas) for Luca Conroy (53 minutes); Mikey Barea (Broadford) for Seán Cullen (55 minutes). Philip Tierney (ÉÓCC) for Liam O’Flynn (56 minutes):


Kevin Curran; Eoin Kavanagh, Donal Jordan, Jack Ryan; David Nolan, Tony Lawlor cpt., Éanna Holland; Dan Sheehan, Rory Joyce; Ciarán Whelan, Jon Nolan, Darragh O’Toole; Sam Meany, Michael Kavanagh, Jason O’Neill. Subs: Billy Molloy for Rory Joyce (38 minutes): Niall Whelan for Michael Kavanagh (40 minutes); Neil Martin for Sam Meany (49 minutes); Fionn White for Éanna Holland (55 minutes).


Barry Nea, Westmeath; change of referee at half time, Andy Devine, Westmeath.