Duffy strikes late for Moorefield

A LAST gasp point from the boot of Gareth Duffy ensured Moorefield took the Senior Reserve A Football Championship title at St Conleth’s Park last Saturday afternoon, writes Ruth Chambers.

A LAST gasp point from the boot of Gareth Duffy ensured Moorefield took the Senior Reserve A Football Championship title at St Conleth’s Park last Saturday afternoon, writes Ruth Chambers.

Senior Reserve A Football Championship Final

Moorefield: 1-11

Sarsfields: 1-10

Just moments beforehand Duffy struck the leveller for the Moores and this Newbridge derby final encounter looked to be headed for a replay. Duffy had other ideas though and delivered the goods when it mattered most to bury Moorefield’s arch rivals.

This was a tight affair right up until the death. At the interlude only a goal separated the sides with Moorefield leading 1-5 to 0-5. The Moores enjoyed a super finish to the opening half thanks in no small part to their wing back Eamonn Callaghan, who scored 1-1 late on to give his side a half time advantage.

In the second half a 49th minute goal from Michael Dunne gave Sarsfields a one point (1-10 to 1-9) lead and it took Moorefield until stoppage time to restore parity through Gareth Duffy.

Moorefield drew first blood in this encounter when Adam Tyrell converted a free from close range in the second minute but it was the Sash who enjoyed the better of the first half exchanges. Well, until the end of it that is.

The Sash, under the guidance of Conor Earley, got their scoring under way with three minutes on the clock when Pauric Buckley collected possession from Stephen Dunne before splitting the posts and restoring early parity.

With played the sides were again level thanks to points from Sarsfields wing back Keith Browne and one from play courtesy of man-of-the-match Gareth Duffy.

Three on the trot for Sarsfields, courtesy of midfield man Enda Freaney, Pauric Buckley and Keith Browne again gave them a 0-5 to 0-2 advantage with 23 minutes on the clock and they were definitely looking like the better team.

However, Moorefield also hit three without response there after to level the game up as half time approached. The first of those three game from a Adam Tyrell free, while Aaron Mullins also sent over a free. Eamonn Callaghan grabbed his first of two points in the 29th minute and the sides were level with 0-5 each.

Callaghan again came up trumps for the Moores before the interlude whistle. He collected possession from Alan Melia before unleashing a rasping shot that flew passed John Melia like a bullet and left Moorefield 1-5 to 0-5 to the good at half time.

After the turnaround Callaghan’s goal proved the difference until Sarsfields added one of their own with eleven minutes left.

Trailing by two points (1-9 to 0-10) the Sash hit the back of Conor Galvin’s net when Diarmuid Hartley’s ball in ended up with Michael Dunne drilling the ball to the net to give his side a 1-10 to 1-9 advantage.

After this Moorefield had plenty of chances to draw level but their shooting left a lot to be desired.

Indeed they had to wait twelve minutes before Duffy struck the leveller and a replay looked to be on the cards.

However when Duffy claimed a pass from Stephen Roley after he intercepted Keith Browne’s pass, he kept his calm, split the posts and ensured the title for the Moores.


Moorefield, Eamonn Cal-laghan 1-2, Adam Tyrell 0-3 (2f), Gareth Duffy 0-3, Aaron Mullins 0-1 (1f), Gary Lowe 0-2.

Sarsfields, Pauric Buckley 0-2, Keith Browne 0-2, Enda Freaney 0-3, Barry Coffey 0-2 (2f), Ronan Fitzgibbon 0-1, Michael Dunne 1-0.


Conor Galvin; Niall Galvin, Stephen Doyle, Niall Whyte; Dean Brogan, Alan Melia, Eamonn Callaghan; Ryan Moore, Stephen Roley; Ryan Houlihan, Gareth Duffy, Adam Tyrell; Aaron Mullins, Gary Lowe, Daire Dunne. Subs: Eoin O’Connor for D Dunne 43 mins, Decky Dooley for N Galvin 49 mins, Daryl Edmonds replaced G Lowe 59.


John Melia; Ian Mulligan, John Kavanagh, Aidan McLernon; Keith Browne, Niall Hedderman, Ciaran Carey; Enda Freaney, Eoin O’Sullivan; Diarmuid Hartley, Barry Coffey, Pauric Buckley; Stephen Dunne, Michael Dunne, Ronan Fitzgibbon.


Tony Donnelly.