07 Jul 2022

Kildare book final spot but much to contemplate

Just three in it at the end

Kildare v Westmeath Report

Kevin Feely of Kildare in action against Ray Connellan of Westmeath during the Leinster GAA Football Senior Championship Semi-Final match between Kildare and Westmeath

Kildare booked their place in this year's Leinster final with an unconvincing three point win over Westmeath at Croke Parkk this afternoon.

It was a mixed bag from Kildare who looked very dangerous in attack but were certainly found wanting at the back.

Kildare led at the break, despite conceding a goal after 23 seconds and a second later in the half, in between they played some great football, hitting no less  than 13 points and a well worked goal, scored by Jimmy Hyland, palming the ball to the net from a pass from Daniel Flynn.

Ben McCormack was in flying form in that opening 35 minutes, with four points from play.

The score stood at 1-13 to 2-6 at the break and that increased to seven points after 53 minutes.

Westmeath kept plugging away however, and gradually reduced the lead and while they never looked like causing an upset, neverthelesss the margin of victory for Kildare certainly will leave Glenn Ryan ans his backroom with much to contemplate before the final on Saturday week.

Final score Kildare 1-21 Westeath 2-15.

Scorers: Kildare, Ben McCormack 0-5 (1 mark) Jimmy Hyland 1-4 (2 frees), Darragh Kirwan 0-5 (1 free), Daniel Flynn 0-2 (1 mark), Tony Archbold 0-1, Kevin Flynn 0-1, Paul Cribbin 0-1, Alex Beirne 0-1, Neil Flynn 0-1 (free).

Westmeath, RonanO'Toole 1-3, John Heslin 0-4 (1 free), Jamie Gonoud 1-0, Ray Connellan 0-2, Nigel Harte 0-1, Sam McCartan 0-4, Luke Loughlin 0-1,

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan; Mick O'Grady spt, Shea Ryan, Mike Joyce; Tony Archbold, James Murray, Kevin Flynn; Kevin Feely, Kevin O'Callaghan; Alex Beirne, Ben McCormack, Paul Cribbin; Darragh Kirwan, Daniel Flynn, Jimmy Hyland. Subs: Paddy McDermott for Paul Cribbin (48 minutes); Fergal Conway for Kevin O'Callaghan (58 minutes); Neil Flynn for Jimmy Hyland (60 minutes); Aaron Masterson for Kevin Feely (69 minutes);

WESTMEATH: Jason Daly; Jack Smith, Kevin Maguire, David Giles; Jamie Gonoud, Ronan Wallace, Nigel Harte; Jonathan Lynam, Ray Connellan; Sam McCartan, Ronan O'Toole, David Lynch; Ger Egan, John Heslin, Alex Gardiner. Subs: Luke Loughlin for Jonathan Lynam (34 minutes); Sam Duncan for Alex Gardiner (48 minutes); James Dolan for David Lynch (55 minutes); Kieran Martin for Ger Egan (62 minutes); Robbie Forde for David Giles (67 minutes).

REFEREE: Sean Hurson, Tyrone.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.