21 Jan 2022

One way traffic as Kildare too strong for Carlow

Two wins from two for The Lilies

Kildare v Carlow OBC

David Hyland

Kildare had a comfortable win over Carlow in Dr Cullen Park, Carlow on Thursday evening, winning as they liked in a game they dominate from start to finish.

Leading at the break 1-12 to 1-3, Glenn Ryan's side were in total control again in the second half in a game that saw no less than 12 different scorers in white.

Touogher games to come, no doubt.

Next up semi-final next Wednesday, opponents not known until after this weekend's Round 3 games.

Final score: Kildare 4-19 Carlow 1-10.

Scorers: Kildare, Paddy Woodgate 0-6 (3 frees, 45), Daniel Flynn 0-5 (1 free), Kevin Flynn 2-0, Davy O'Neill 2-0, Eoghan Lawless 0-1, Jack Sargent 0-1, David Hyland 0-1, Darragh Malone 0-1, Paul Cribbin 0-1, Kevin O'Callaghan 0-1, Daragh Ryan 0-1, Brian McLoughlin 0-1 (free).

Carlow, Conor Crowley 1-2 (1 mark), Colum Hulton 0-3, Darragh Foley 0-2 (2 frees); Murtough Ware 0-2, Shane Buggy 0-1,

KILDARE: Tom Kinsella; David Randles, Michael Joyce, Darragh Malone; David Hyland, James Murray, Jack Sargent; Kevin O'Callaghan, Kevin Flynn; Davy O'Neill, Paul Cribbin, Padraig Tuohy; Paddy Woodgate, Daniel Flynn, Eoghan Lawless. Subs: Mick O'Grady for Darragh Malone (32 minutes); Shane O'Sullivan for Paul Cribbin (half time); Brian McLoughlin for Padraig Tuohy (48 minutes); Daragh Ryan for Jack Sargent (50 minutes); Liam Power for Kevin O'Callaghan (52 minutes); Adam Steed for Paddy Woodgate (53 minutes); Shea Ryan for Kevin Flynn (57 minutes); Tom Harrington for David Hyland (58 minutes);

CARLOW: Ciaran Cunningham; Liam Roberts, Keegan Bradley, Dara Curran; Shane Buggy, Conor Doyle, Darragh O'Brien; Seanie Bambrick, Murtough Ware; Liam Brennan Henry Hegarty, Shane Clarke; Conor Crowley, Darragh Foley, Cormac Lomax. Subs: Niall Hickey for Seanie Bambrick (21 minutes); Padraig Hynes for Liam Brennan (half time); Colm Hulton for Henry Hegarty (half time); Diarmuid Ruth for Cormac Lomax (52 minutes); Padraig Deering for Conor Doyle (57 minutes); Adam Murphy for Conor Crowley (60 minutes);

REFEREE: Stephen Fagan, Wicklow.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.