07 Dec 2021

Wexford halt Kildare minor challenge

Gallant effort comes unstuck in second half

Kildare v Wexford Minors

ildare Fionn Maher fully focused on winning procession during the Leinster Gaa Minor Hurling Championship game against Wexford

Kildare minor hurlers journey in Leinster came to an end in St Conleth's Park this evening when Wexford ran out comfortable winners on a final score line of 2-18 to 3-10.

Despite the final score line, it  was Kildare who led at the break after a goal just on time from Seamus Kelleher left them one to to the good 1-6 to 1-5.

Wexford went  one clear on the resumption but again Kildare hit back,  this time a brilliant move ended with Alan Tobin finding the Wexford net and The Lilies ahead by two, 36 minutes on the clock.

incredibly Kildare did  not score again for all of 20 minutes with Wexford hitting 1-8 before Kildare's next score, a goal from Fionn Cooke left the score 2-16 to 3-8.

It was all over at that stage and while Kildare did add a few points, it is Wexford march on to play Dublin in the semi final.

Scorers: Wexford, Luke Roche 1-7 (7 frees), Luke Murphy 0-3, Simon Roche 1-2, Adam O'Grady 0-2, Fionn Walsh 0-2, Darby Purcell 0-1, Sean Cooney 0-1.

Kildare, Fionn Maher 0-5 (4 frees), Alan Tobin 1-2, Seamus Kelleher 1-0, Fionn Cooke 1-0, Cian Boran 0-2, Killian Harrington 0-1.

KILDARE: Eoin Sheehan (Broadford); Ciarán Kirwan (Celbridge), Liam O'Reilly (Naas), Rian Redfern (Naas); Dara Crowley (Éire Óg Corra Choill), Daniel O'Meara (Maynooth), Ryan Sinkey (Naas); Fionn Maher (Naas), Cian Boran (Naas); Seamus Kelleher (Naas), Niall Dolan (Éire Óg Corra Choill), Alan Tobin (Naas ); Killian Harrington (Naas), Ciarán Mangan (Sallins), James Dolan James (Celbridge). Subs: Fionn Cooke (Éire Óg Corra Choill) for James Dolan (half time); Josh O'Donoghue (Broadford) for Ciaran Mangan (48 minutes); Seán Murphy (Naas) for Killian Harrington (48 minutes); Bill Hennessy (Naas) for Rian Redfern (48 minutes);

WEXFORD: Tiarnan Doyle; Darragh Kehoe, Cian Ó Tuama, Robbie Chapman; Eoin Whelan Seán Cooney, Paudie Doyle; Daragh Murphy, Cillian Byrne; Darby Purcell, Luke Murphy, Andrew Moran; Simon Roche, Berty Finn, Luke Roche. Subs: Adam O'grady for Berty Finn (27 minutes); Fionn Walsh for Andrew Moran (half time); Dylan Purcell for Cillian Byrne (35 minutes); Sean Rowley for Daragh Murphy (38 minutes); Joe Mernagh for Luke Muphry (38 minutes);

REFEREE: Richie Fitzsimons, Offaly.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.