03 Dec 2021

Caragh defeat Robertstown to lift Kildare Junior title

Robertstown never recovered after Caragh went six points up in opening quarter

Caragh v Robertstown

Caragh Kevin Campbell holds off the challenge of Robertstown Cole Lyons during the 2020 Tom Cross Junior Football Championship Final. Picture: Sean Brilly

Caragh were crowned Tom Cross Transport Junior Football Championship (2020) following a well deserved five point over Robertstown at St Conleth's Park, Newbridge, this afternoon,  on a final score line of Caragh 0-11 Robertstown 0-6.

Caragh were on top early on and led at the first water break 0-6 to 0-00.

Robertstown finally opened their account on 16 minutes, from their main marksman, Aidan Dunne.

Caragh led at the break  0-9 to 0-2.

Robertstown gradually whittled that lead on the resumption with Aidan Dunne's frees getting the deficit back to three before Caragh got a vital point just before the second water break, to hold a four point lead 0-10 to 0-6.

Despite numerous opportunities Robertstown never raised another flag, while Caragh kicked the final score of the game, a free from Jake Corrigan as the boys in maroon finally brought the curtain down on the JFC of 2020 on a final score line of Caragh 0-11 Robertstown 0-6.

Scorers: Caragh, Dan Campbell 0-4 (3 frees); Eoghan O'Haire 0-3 (1 free), Jake Corrigan 0-2 (1 free), Daniel Murray 0-1, Austin Nevin 0-1.

Robertstown, Aidan Dunne 0-5 (5 frees), Danny Scully 0-1.

CARAGH: Lorcan Behan; Mattie McNally, Eoghan Garry, Conor Murphy; Austin Nevin, Paul Cockery, Daniel Murray; Kevin Connor, Dan Lynam; Eoghan O'Haire, Kevin Campbell, Kevin Dempsey; Brian Fitzpatrick, Dan Campbell, Jake Corrigan. Subs: Nigel Rynolds for Eoghan O'Haire (60 minutes); Sean Fitzhenry for Austin Nevin (62 minutes).

ROBERTSTOWN: Shane Ward; Cole Lyons, Anthony Moran, JP Ewing; Craig Sullivan, Mark Kelly, Niall Kane; Diarmuid Walsh, John O'Sullivan; Danny Scully, Noel Byrne, Murray O'Byrne; Joe Kavanagh, Aidan Dunne, Peter Hogarty. Subs: Brion Kennedy for John O'Sullivan (39 minutes); Paul Prior for PJ Ewing (51 minutes); Jason Butler for Noel Byrne (60 minutes).

REFEREE: Owen Murphy.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.