01 Dec 2021

Impressive Kildare minor footballers march on

Conneff's boys turn on the style

Kildare Saturday MFC

Darragh Swords looks at his options for a pass during the Minor Football Championship game against Louth

Kildare marched on to the Leinster Minor semi final with a comprehensive victory over Louth at St Conleth's Park this afternoon.

It was a fine display from the winners, after a sluggish start they finished the opening half in style leading 1-7 to 0-3, the goal coming from Daragh Sloane.

They continued their dominance on the resumption, adding a further 1-9 and while Louth did get a goal in the second half, from full forward, Tom Matthews, there was no stopping Kildare, Fionn Ó Giolláin getting their second goal as The Lilies won on a final score line of Kildare 2-16 Louth 1-7.

Scorers: Kildare, Fionn Ó Giolláin 1-0, Adam Fanning 0-5 (3 frees), Daragh Sloane 1-0, Daragh Swords 0-2, Oisin O'Sullivan 0-4, Shane Farrell 0-2, Ben Fitzsimons 0-1, Charlie Litton 0-1, Cian Grimes 0-1 (free).

Louth, Kyle McDonald 0-5 (4 frees), Tom Matthews 1-2 (2 frees).

KILDARE: Cormac Barker (Kilcullen); Ryan Burke (Newtown Gaels), Elliot Byrne cpt (Naas), Fionn Tully (Raheens); Harry O'Neill (Clane), James McGrath (Athy), Fionn Ó Giolláin (Maynooth); Conn Kehoe (Suncroft), Conor Lonergan (Fr. Prendergast Gaels); Charlie Litton (Oliver Plunkett’s), Daragh Swords (Newtown Gaels); Ben Fitzsimons (Eadestown), Adam Fanning (Clane), Daragh Sloane (Balyna), Oisin O'Sullivan (Clane). Subs: Shane Farrell (Kilcock) for Conn Kehoe (half time); Joe Ledwidge (Leixlip) for Ben Fitzsimons (half time); Cian Grimes (Sallins) for Adam Fanning (49 minutes); Jack McKevitt (Naas) for Harry O'Neill (49 minutes); James Kilbride (Naas) for Daragh Swords (54 minutes).

LOUTH: Dylan Cassidy (Dreadnots); Ruairi O'Hagan (St Patrick's), Conn O'Donoghue (Dealgan), Cian Murphy (Cooley); Camron Maher (St Kevin's), Paul Brennan (Cooley), Sean Flanagan (Wolfe Tones); Brian Cafferty (Geraldines), Beanon Corrigan (Geraldines); Cian Connor (Cooley), Enda O'Neill (Cooley), Sean Reynolds (Parnell); Lee Grifferty ((O'Rahelley), Tom Matthews (St Kevin's), Kyle McDonald (O'Rahelley). Subs: Cormac Malone (Cooley) for Paul Brennan (half time); Fionn Meagher (St Nicholas) for Lee Grifferty (half time); Killian McDonald (O'Rahelley) for Ruairi O'Hagan (40 minutes); Danny Reilly (O'Rahelley) for Sean Reynolds (42 minutes); Emmet Murray (Newtown Blues) for Cian O'Connor (50 minutes).

REFEREE: Stephen Fagan, Wicklow.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.