03 Dec 2021

Kildare no match for Offaly in Kehoe Cup opener

Faithful boys in full control throughout

Kildare no match for Offaly in Kehoe Cup opener

Kildare's Rian Boran clears his lines against Jason Sampson of Offaly

Offaly had little trouble in disposing of Kildare in the opening round of the Keho Cup at Birr this afternoon.

In control from the start, the Faithful County, under new manager Michael Fennelly, strolled through this game amassing a total of 2-28.

Kildare though can be happy with their 18 point total and manager David Herrity said after the game while disappointed with the result, all things considered he was happy to get game time into so many players, many making their inter-county debut.

Offaly led at the break 0-16 to 0-9 but as David Herrity said after the game “we paid dearly for a lack of concentration at different times, something we have to learn when playing against opposition such as Offaly.”

Final score Offaly 2-28 Kildare 0-18.

Scorers: Offaly, Eoghan Cahill 1-10 (2 frees, 65), Oisin Kelly 1-3 (s/line), Tommy Geraghty 0-4, Brian Duignan 0-3, Conor Langton 0-2, Aidan Treacy 0-2, Conor Langton 0-2, Peter Geraghty 0-1, Sean Cleary 0-1.

Kildare, Mark Delaney 0-7 (65, 5 frees), Jack Sheridan 0-5 (3 frees, 65), Shane Ryan 0-3, Cathal Melville 0-1, Conor Dowling 0-1, Simon Lacey 0-1.

OFFALY: Stephen Corcoran; Ciaran Burke, Damien Egan, Mihael Cleary; Daniel Doughan, Ben Conneely, David King; Aidan Treacy, Jason Sampson; Thomas Geraghty, Oisin Kelly, Sean Cleary; Liam Langton, Brian Duignan, Eogan Cahill. Subs: Conor Langton for Jason Sampson (44 minutes); Peter Geraghty for Tommy Geraghty (48 minutes); Eoghan Parlon for Sean Cleary (53 minutes); Oisin Murphy for Michael Cleary (57 minutes); Ross Ravenhill for David King (60 minutes).

KILDARE: Mark Doyle (Clane); Niall Ó Muineacháin (Celbridge), John Doran (Leixlip), Cathal Derivan (Leixlip); Simon Leacy (Naas), Rian Boran (Naas), Drew Costello (Ardclough); Aran Kelly (Ardclough); Ronan Dunne, Maynooth; Jack Sheridan (Naas), James Burke (Naas), Caolan Smith (Clan); Sean Whelan (Ardclough), Cathal Melville (Leixlip), Mark Delaney (Coill Dubh). Subs: Cathal Dowling (Naas) for Aran Kelly (13 minutes); Shane Ryan (Naas) for Sean Whelan (19 minutes); Aran Kelly for Cathal Melville (20 minutes); Conor Dowling (Naas) for Ronan Dunne (30 minutes); Conor Gordon (Éire Óg Corrachoill) for Rian Boran (43 minutes); Ronan Dunne for Aran Kelly (58 minutes); Rian Boran for Drew Costello (51 minutes); Jamie Connolly for Mark Delaney (68 minutes).

REFEREE: David Hughes.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.