01 Dec 2021

Bro Bosco Cup: Naas CBS dismiss St Benildus with ease

Leinster champs top group and advance to knock-out stages

Bro Bosco Cup: Naas CBS dismiss St Benildus with ease

Naas CBS Paddy Kelly gets his hand pass clear despite the St Benildus College pressure

Bro Bosco Cup champions, Naas CBS, top their group in the Top Oil Leinster PP Schools 'A' Championship, following a comprehensive win over St Benildus this afternoon at Naas GAA headquarters.

The Ronan Joyce manage side were always in control, led 2-17 to 0-3 at the break going on to demolish the Dublin school by 4-24 to 1-8.

With a fair few of last season's successful side, along with additional players from the Naas U17 side that clinched the county title only last Sunday, the defending champions now move on to the knock-out stages, after Christmas, when they will be drawn against a side that finished second in their group.

Scorers: Naas, James Dalton 1-3, Alex Beirne 1-6 (4 frees, penalty), Simon Murphy 1-4 , Neil Aherne 1-1, Sean McLoughlin 0-3 (2 frees), Kevin Quinn 0-3, Sam Morrissey 0-2, Adam Malone 0-1, Brendan Quinn 0-1.

St Benildus, Ronan Cullen 1-3 (1 free), Ciarán Foley 0-2, Luke Murphy Guinane 0-2 (1 free), Luke Cullen 0-1.

NAAS CBS: David Morrissey (Naas); Mark Maguire (Naas), Conan Boran (Eadestown), Ferran O'Sullivan (Naas); Adam Malone (Raheens), Will Purcell (Two Mile House), Paddy Kelly (Naas); Kevin Quinn (Blessington), Eoin Archbold (Naas); Sean McLoughlin (Raheens), Drew Costello (Naas), Sam Morrissey (Naas); Simon Murphy (Ballymore Eustace), Alex Beirne (Naas), James Dalton (Sallins). Subs: Joe Murphy (Naas) for Drew Costello (half time); M. Whelan (Naas) for Will Purcell (46 minutes); Nick Sweeney (Naas) for Kevin Quinn (46 minutes); Eamonn Dunne (Naas) for Paddy Kelly (46 minutes); Brendan Quinn (Naas) for Ferran O'Sullivan (49 minutes); Neil Aherne  for Simon Murphy (49 minutes).

ST BENILDUS: Liam Conway; Darragh Kenny, Jack Feahan, Shane Cullanan, Rory O'Mahony, Adam Mezynski, Cian Lyndon; Ciarán Foley, Luke Murphy Guinane; Adam O'Brien, Ronan Cullen, Connor Mooney; Luke Cullen, Bryan Keogh Smith, Billy Hendley.

REFEREE: Greg Gunning, Westmeath.

Other results:  Knockbeg College 3-14, Scoil Aodhain 1-8; Naas CBS 4-24, St. Benildus 1-8; Athlone CC 2-12, Scoil Mhuire Clane 1-10.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.