29 Nov 2021

Kildare GAA: Moorefield and Sarsfields play out a thrilling draw

Sarsfields level it on 65 minutes

Kildare GAA: Senior final

Moorefield Eanna O'Connor spins out of the challenge with Sarsfields Ben McCormack during the Joe Mallon Renault Senior Football Championship Final 2019 played at St Conleths Park, Newbridge

Moorefield and Sarsfields must try again following a thrilling Kildare SFC final at St Conleth's' Park, this afternoon.

In an all action game that flowed and ebbed it took a brilliant Barry Coffey point to level up matters in the 65th minute.

Moorefield were in control early on with first half goals from Mark McDermott and Eanna O'Connor and led at the break 2-5 to 0-9.

Sarsfields took the lead for the first time on 42 minutes but Moorefield came back to level.

It was touch and go before Moorefield took the lead again but Barry Coffey had the last say hitting a brilliant point from a tight angle to tie it up.

Final score: Moorefield 2-9 Sarsfields 0-15.

Replay next Sunday.

Scorers: Moorefield, Eanna O'Connor 1-4 (2 frees), Eddie Heavey 0-2, Mark McDermott 1-0, Adam Tyrrell 0-1, Aaron Masterson 0-1, Liam Callaghan 0-1.

Sarsfields, Barry Coffey 0-5, Ray Cahill 0-6 (3 frees), Matty Byrne 0-1, Caoimhin McDonnell 0-1, Ben McCormack 0-1 (free), Alan Smith 0-1.

MOOREFIELD: Ian McDonnell; Liam Callaghan, Liam Healy, Mark Dempsey; Kevin Murnaghan, James Murray cpt., Sean Healy; Aaron Masterson, David Whyte; Cian O'Connor, Eddie Heavey, Anthony Durney; Niall Hurley Lynch, Mark McDermott, Eanna O'Connor. Subs: Adam Tyrrell for Niall Hurley Lynch (32 minute); Roli Sweeney for Anthony Durney (35 minutes); Daryl Flynn for Roli Sweeney (46 minutes); Sean Dempsey for Mark Dempsey (57 minutes); Eamonn Callaghan for Mark McDermott (59 minutes).

SARSFIELDS: Paddy O'Sullvan; Shea Ryan, Sean Campbell cpt, Tom Aspell; Con Kavanagh, Cian McConnell, Ciaran McInerney Aspell; Matty Byrne, Caoimhin McDonnell; Conor Hartley, Ben McCormack, Barry Coffey; Declan McKenna, Ray Cahill, Alan Smith. Subs: Darragh Ryan for Cian McConnell (18 minutes); Brian McDonnell for Ciaran McInerney Aspell (55 minutes); Cian Costigan for Declan McKenna (57 minutes); Shane Doyle for Ray Cahill (60 minutes).

REFEREE: Niall Colgan.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.