06 Dec 2021

Kildare GAA: Naas crowned senior hurling champions

Long wait is finally over as Coill Dubh go down by three

Kildare GAA:

Naas Ross Kelly wins procession ahead of Coill Dubh Diarmuid Cahill during the Haven Hire Senior Hurling Championship Final 2019

The long wait is finally over for Naas as they were crowned Haven Hire SHC champions after defeating Coill Dubh by three points at St Conleth's Park, Newbrige this afternoon.

In a game that never really caught light it was Naas who dominated, particularly in the opening half but a total of nine wides, including two 65s and two scoreable frees, kept Coill Dubh in the game through they trailed by four at the break 0-9 to 0-5.

Coill Dubh never showed their true form but a couple of early points on the resumption gave them a glimmer of hope but Naas stuck to their task, hit three on the trot before Dubh responded with three of their own.

Naas edged five clear with 55 gone but while Coill Dubh hit back with the final two points of the game it is Naas who are crowned senior champions for the seventh time and their first 2002.

Final score: Naas 0-15 Coill Dubh 0-12.

Scorers: Naas, Brian Byrne 0-8 (three 65s, 4 frees), James Burke 0-2, Jack Sheridan 0-2 (2 frees), Cathal Dowling 0-1, Michael Purcell 0-1, Shane Ryan 0-1.

Coill Dubh, Mark Delaney 0-7 (6 frees), Jonathan Byrne 0-2, Declan Flaherty 0-1, Ryan Casey 0-1, Diarmuid Cahill 0-1 (free).

NAAS: Cormac Gallagher; Conor Gormley, Richard Hogan, Donal MacSweeney; Paul Sullivan, Rian Boran, Simon Leacy; Shane Broderick, Brian Byrne; Philip Cocoman, Jack Sheridan, Ross Kelly; James Burke, Cathal Dowling, Shane Ryan. Subs: Sean Gainey for Conor Gormley (3 minutes); Michael Purcell for Philip Cocoman (50 minutes); Darach MacDonncha for Donal MacSweeney (55 minutes): Conor Dowling for Shane Ryan (59 minutes); Mark Nevin for Cathal Dowling (62 minutes).

COILL DUBH: Owen Lenehan; Diarmuid Cahill, Dylan Brereton, Joseph Kenny; Barry Mullins, Mark Grace, Conor Gordon; Ross Carew, Luke O'Reilly; Ryan Casey, Declan Flaherty, Tom Brady; Mark Delaney, Jonathan Byrne, Mark Byrne. Subs: Ruairí Hayden for Joseph Kenn (half time).

REFEREE: Dave Coady.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.