07 Dec 2021

Naas defeat Sarsfields to set up final SFL spot

Three second half goals the difference


Eoghan Bateman (Naas) comes under pressure from the Ryan brothers of Sarsfields, Shea and Daragh

Naas booked their place in the EMS Copiers SFL final with a comfortable nine point defeat of Sarsfields in very poor conditions this afternoon at St Conleth's Park.

In a lively game a first half goal from Colm Joyce was the difference between the sides as the county town boys led 1-5 to0-1.

With the wind and heavy rain on their backs Naas looked like they would win with ease but that was not the case as Sarsfields drew level on 34 with a fine goal from Declan McKenna.

However the Newbridge boys never got their noses in front and three second half goals, all it has to be said of the soft variety, two from Eamonn Callaghan and one from Ronan Joyce was enough for Naas to deservedly book a place in next weekend's final against Carbury.

Final score: Naas 4-10 Sarsfields 1-10.

Scorers: Naas, Eamonn Callaghan 2-5 (5 frees), Colm Joyce 1-0, Ronan Joyce 1-0, Eoghan Bateman 0-1, Luke Griffin 0-1, Barry Reynolds 0-1 (45), Sean Cullen 0-1 (sideline), Darragh Kirwan 0-1.

Sarsfields, Matty Byrne 0-3 (3 frees), Declan McKenna 1-1, Ray Cahill 0-3 (2 frees), Alan Smith 0-1, Con Kavanagh 0-1, Conor Hartley 0-1.

NAAS: Barry Reynolds; Johnny Heavey, Brian Byrne, Luke Griffin; Brian Kane, Eoin Doyle, Eoghan Bateman; David Gahan, Conor McCarthy; Aiilin McDermott, Eamonn Callaghan, Adam Cronin; Sean Cullen, Colm Joyce, Darragh Kirwan Subs: Shane Bergin for Johnny Heavey (36 minutes); Dallan Gallagher for Adam Cronin (42 minutes); Ronan Joyce for Colm Joyce (52 minutes); Barry Murphy for Brian Kane (52 minutes); Dean McHolmes for Luke Griffin (54 minutes).

SARSFIELDS: John Melia; Niall O'Connor, Tom Aspell, Alan Scully; Daragh Ryan, Shea Ryan, Darragh McHugh; Matty Byrne, Con Kavanagh; Conor Hartley, Brian McDonnell, Dave Shalvey; Declan McKenna, Shane Doyle, Alan Smith. Subs: Ray Cahill for Shane Doyle (35 minutes); Conor Leavy for Darragh McHugh (44 minutes); Shane Hurley

REFEREE: Niall Colgan.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.