01 Dec 2021

Brave fightback by Kildare Juniors comes up just short

Lilies it give it their all in the second half

Kildare Juniors

Eoin Lawless, Kildare half forward

Kildare lost their Leinster Junior Football crown by a mere two points against Meath in Croke Park this afterenoon.

Meath dominated the game early on for long periods and two goals inside two minutes put them in the driving seat, leading at the break 2-7 to 0-7.

Kildare, to their credit, did not throw in the towel and with Jack Robinson leading the charge took command whittling the lead back to a single point on 63 minutes but as they sought the equaliser they were turned over, Meath attacked, and when fouled got the vital point a minute later to take the title on a final score line of Meath 2-14 to 0-18.

Scorers: Kildare Jack Robinson 0-7, Padraig Nash 0-4 (4 frees), Barry Noone 0-2, Shane O'Rourke 0-2, Jack Bambrick 0-1, Mark Grace 0-1, Eoghan Lawless 0-1,

Meath, Ruairí Ó Coileain 1-4, Kevin Ross 1-0, Frank O'Reilly 0-5 (3 frees, 45), Danny Quinn 0-1, Jason Scully 0-2, James Cassidy 0-1, Kevin Ross 0-1.

KILDARE: Tom Kinsella (Moorefield); Darragh Malone (Allenwood), Colin O’Shea (Milltown), Gavin Scanlon (Clogherinkoe); Omar Dunne (Milltown), Mark Grace (St. Kevin's), Owen Whelan (Ballykelly); Daniel Grehan (Clogherinkoe), Jack Bambrick (Arclough); Eoghan Lawless (Suncroft), Seamus Hanafin cpt (Milltown), Padraig Nash (Monasterevan); Jack Robinson (Clogherinkoe), Mark Nolan (Clogherinkoe), Niall Murphy (Ballymore Eustace). Subs: Shane O'Rourle (Kilcock) for Mark Nolan (half time); Johnny Doyle (Allenwood) for Niall Murphy (37 minutes); Conor Jaimeson (Rathangan) for Owen Whelan (39 minutes); Ryan Casey (St Kevin's) for Omar Dunne (48 minutes); Mark Grehan (Clogherinkoe) for Seamus Hanafin (52 minutes); Barry Noone (St Kevin's) for Daniel Grehan (53 minutes).

MEATH: Adam McDermott; Darren Gibney, Michael Flood, Ruarí Ó Coilean; James Cassidy, Morgn Callaghan, Seán Reilly; Robin Clarke, Danny Quinn; Cathal McConnell, Frank O'Reilly, Jason Scully; Oran Meehan, Robbie Farrelly, Kevin Ross. Subs: Darren Finney for Robbie Farrelly (half time); Stelphen Coogan for Oran Meehan (42 minutes); Sean Claire for Kevin Ross (60 minutes); Gerard Duane for Darren Gibney (61 minutes).

REFEREE: Chris Dwyer, Offaly.

REFEREE: Chris Dwyer, Offaly.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.