07 Dec 2021

Kildare book place in Leinster semi final

After slow start Lilies pull clear of Longford

Kildare and Longford replay

Fergal Conway breaks through the cover of Padraig McCormack to blast the ball to the Longford net for Kildare opening score of the Leinster Senior Football Championship Quarter Final Replay

Kildare booked a place in next Sunday's Leinster semi final following an 11 point win over Longford at O'Connor Park, Tullamore, this afternoon.

We had to wait all of 17 minutes for the opening score, a point from Longford's David McGiveny but Kildare responded immediately with a cracking goal from Fergal Conway.

The Lilies led at the break, after playing against the wind, 1-4 to0-4 .

The second half was mostly one way traffic and while Longford scored the opening point, Kildare took control hitting six points on the trot, going on to win on a final score line of Kildare 1-18 Longford 0-10.

Scorers: Kildare, Fergal Conway 1-1, Adam Tyrrell 0-3 (2 frees), Neil Flynn 0-5 (4 frees), Tommy Moolick 0-3, Ben McCormack 0-2, Keith Cribbin 0-1, David Slattery 0-1, Paddy Brophy 0-1, Niall Kelly 0-1.

Longford, David McGivney 0-5 (3 frees), Michael Quinn 0-2 (2 frees), Joseph Hagan 0-1, Darren Quinn 0-1, Andrew Farrell 0-1.

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan; Mark Dempsey, David Hyland, Mick O'Grady, Peter Kelly, Eoin Doyle cpt., Keith Cribbin, Kevin Feely, Tommy Moolick; David Slattery, Ben McCormack, Fergal Conway; Adam Tyrrell, Paddy Brophy, Jimmy Hyland. Subs: Neil Flynn for Jimmy Hyland (19 minutes); Niall Kelly for Kevin Feely (56 minutes); Cathal McNally for Ben McCormack (59 minutes); Eoghan O'Flaherty for Paddy Brophy (61 minutes); Chris Healy for David Slattery (64 minutes); Kevin O'Cqllaghan for Adam Tyrrell (67 minutes)

LONGFORD: Paddy Collum; Patrick Fox, Gary Rogers, Barry O’Farrell, Colm P.Smyth, Padraig McCormack, Darren Quinn, John Keegan, David McGivney, Donal McElligott, Barry McKeon, Michael Quinn; Daniel Mimnagh, James McGivney, Darragh Doherty. Subs: Andrew Farrell for Barry McKeon (19 minutes); Joseph Hagan for Darragh Doherty (31 minutes); Aidadn McElligott for John Keegan (56 minutes):

REFEREE: Sean Hurson, Tyrone.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.