05 Dec 2021

Heartbreak for Naas CBS

Last quarter fight back comes up just short

Heart break for Naas CBS

Naas CBS Michael McGovern breaks free from the attentions of Ronan McHugh of St Michaels College during the Masita Gaa All-Ireland Post Primary Football A Final played at Croke Park

It was a day of absolute heartbreak for Naas CBS in this afternoonn's All Ireland PPS Hogan Cup final at Croke Park when they came up short by a single point to St Michael's of Enniskillen.

Playing against the wind in the opening half Naas did well to be behind by a mere points, 1-16 to 1-4, the goal coming in the 13 minute from Eoin Conneff who got the better of his marker to plant the ball in the corner of the net.

St Michael's responded well and hit back a few minutes later with a goal from Darragh McBrien.

The half time score read St Michel's 1-6 Naas CBS 1-4 and while Naas had not performed to their high standard in that opening half, with the wind in their backs in the second they were in with a great chance.

St Michael's however edged four points with 41 minutes on the clock while Naas were finding it difficult to find the posts but still in with a chance.

With seven minutes left on the clock there was still four separating the sides as suddenly Naas got a grip around the middle they hit three points on the trot to get it back to just a single point.

The sides exchanged points while a great save by Michael's keeper denied Aidan Cassidy.

After nearly seven minutes of time added on it was the Fermanagh school who took the honours holding out for a one point win; and while fully deserved Naas will ponder for a long time why they really only performed to their best for the final ten minutes or so.

Final scoreline St Michael's Fermanagh 1-12, Naas CBS 1-11.

Scorers: Naas, Eoin Conneff 1-1, Mikey McGovern 0-3 (3 frees), Paddy McDermott 0-2, Eoin Archbold 0-1, Aidan Cassidy 0-1, Aidan Cassidy 0-1. Drew Costello 0-1,

St Michael's, Michael Glynn 0-7 (5 frees), Darragh McBride 1-1, Conor Love 0-3, Josh Largo-Ellis 0-1.

NAAS CBS: Dave Morrissey (Naas); John Lawler (Blessington), Conall Ó Gallahobhair (Blessington), Jack Hamill, cpt (Raheens); Kevin Quinn (Blessington), Eoin Archbold (Naas), Paddy McDermott (Naas); Liam Broderick (Ballymore Eustace); Jack Cleary (Naas);

Tony O'Connor (Two Mile House), Alex Beirne (Naas), Drew Costello (Naas); Mickey McGovern (Raheens), Dermot Hanifin (Naas), Eoin Conneff (Eadestown). Subs: Simon Murphy (Eadestown) for Dermot Hanifin (36 minutes); Conan Boran (Eadestown) for Conaill O Gallaghobhair (40 minutes); Rian Monaghan (Naas) foe Liam Broderick (43 minutes); Aidan Cassidy (Eadestown) for Drew Costello (49 minutes); Harry Carroll (Eadestown) for Eoin Archbold (58 minutes); Conor Murphy (Raheens) for Eoin Conneff (61 minutes).

ST MICHAEL'S ENNISKILLEN: Sean McNally; Luke Flanagan, Garrett Kavanagh, Josh Horan; Aichlinn Ó Catháin, Josh Largo-Ellis, Ronan McHugh; Brandon Horan, Joe McDade; Carolan Duffy, Michael Glynn, Darragh McBrien; Paul McKervey, Conor Love, Tom Keenan. Glenn Tready for Paul McKervey (36 minutes); Garvan Quigley for Tom Keenan (41 minutes); Conor McAloon for Caolan Duffy (61 minutes).

REFEREE: Rory Hickey, Clare.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.