06 Dec 2021

Kildare blown away in Donegal gale

Lilies fail to bloom in Ballyshannon

Kildare v Donegal

David Hyland

The toss of the coin, giving Donega the wind in the opening half ensured the home side would gain promotion to Division 1 following this 13 point over a Kildare who never recovered after trailing at the break 0-13 to 0-1.

Then to add to their misery team captain, Eoin Doyle, received a black card at the start of the second half and before he returned Kevin Flynn received a similar card in the 41 minute but being on a yellow was off for the remainder of the game.

Any chance Kildare had were certainly now gone and while their was definite improvement in the second half with Adam Tyrrell firing over  point points and Jimmy Hyland two but Donegal were never in trouble winning in the end comfortably 1-20 to 0-10

Scorers: Kildare, Adam Tyrrell 0-4 (1 free), Jimmy Hyland 0-2, Neil Flynn 0-2 (2 frees), Cian O'Donoghue 0-1, Paddy Bropjy 0-1 (mark).

Donegal, Niall O'Donnell 0-3, Oisín Gallen 0-4, Michael Muirphy 0-4 (1 free, 45), Jamie Brennan 1-1, Jason McGee 0-2, Ryan McHugh 0-2, Hugh McFdden 0-1, Daire Ó Baoill 0-2, Caolan McGonagle 0-1.

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan; David Hyland, Mick O'Grady, Kevin Flynn; Cian O’Donoghue , Eoin Doyle (C), Peter Kelly; Kevin Feely, Tommy Moolick; Fergal Conway, Paddy Brophy, Keith Cribbin; Neil Flynn, Chris Healy, Jimmy Hyland. Subs: Adam Tyrrell for Keith Cribbin (half time); James Murray for Fergal Conway (48 minutes); Aaron Masterson for Neil Flynn (53 minutes); Tony Archbold for Paddy Brophy (58 minutes); Mark Barrett for Cian O'Donoghue (62 minutes).

DONEGAL: Shaun Patton; Paddy McGrath, Brendan McCole, Eoghan Bán Gallagher; Daire Ó Baoill, Leon McLoone, Ryan McHugh; Hugh McFadden, Jason McGee; Niall O'Donnell, Stephen McMenamin, Carolan McGonagle; Oisín Gallen, Michael Murphy cpt., Jamie Brennan. Subs: Neil McGee for Brendan McCole (55 minutes); Eoin McHugh for Daire O Baoill (61 minutes); Paul Brennan for Oisin Gallen (65 minutes); Frank McGlynn for Leo McLoone (67 minutes); Caolan Ward for Ryan McHugh (68 minutes).

REFEREE:Paddy Neilan, Roscommon.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.