01 Dec 2021

Naas CBS battle hard to book Leinster PP final spot

Holders, Naas, return to provincial decider to defend their title

Naas CBS battle hard to book Leinster PP final spot

Naas players in happy mood following their win over Coláiste Eoin

Holders, Naas CBS, booked their place in the final of the Top Oil PP Schools 'A' football final, for the Bro Bosco Cup, following a six point victory in Abbottstown against Coláiste Eoin on Wednesday afternoon.

In tough, very strong wind, Naas were slow to come to terms with the conditions in the opening half when playing against the wind but two goals before half time saw them lead, a bit against the run of play it has to be said, with two green flags from Eoin Conneff, saw them lead 2-3 to 1-3 heading into the dressing room.

Naas looked in a strong position at that stage and when Drew Costello fired to the Eoin net after just two minutes of the resumption, it looked like Ronan Joyce's lads were on their way but a spirited fight back from Coláiste Eoin saw them draw level with a little over then minutes remaining.

However, it was at this stage Naas CBS showed their bottle, their strength and their footballing ability when adding another goal, this time from Mickey McGovern, and three points from Kevin Quinn, Dermot Hanafin and Drew Costello to win by six points on a final score line of Naas CBS 4-7 Coláiste Eoin 2-7.

The final, against Wicklow Schools, is due to be played on Wednesday evening next, but no time or venue has yet been announced

Scorers: Naas CBS, Eoin Conneff 2-0, Drew Costello 1-1, Michael McGovern 1-2 (2 frees), Kevin Quinn 0-2, Dermot Hanafin 0-2, Alex Beirne 0-1, Tony O'Connor 0-1.
Coláiste Eoin, Tom Ó hEachthigheirn 2-0, Donncha Ó Ciardha 0-3 (2 frees, 45), Séamus Ó Fiachna 0-2, Eoghan Ó Ceallacháin 0-2 (1 free), Pádraig Puirséil 0-1 (free), Tomás Ó Néill 0-1.

NAAS CBS: Dave Morrissey; Jack Hamill, Eoin Archbold, John Lawler; Paddy McDermott, Kevin Kelleher, Kevin Quinn; Liam Broderick, Jack Cleary; Tony O'Connor, Alex Beirne, Dermot Hanafin; Drew Costello, Eoin Conneff, Mickey McGovern. Subs: Conall Ó Gallachobhair for Paddy McDermott (42 minutes); Simon Murphy for Mickey McGovern (50 minutes); Craig Johnson for Eoin Conneff (56 minutes); Conal Byrne for Liam Broderick (59 minutes); Harry Carroll for John Lawler (62 minutes); Aidan Cassidy for Jack Hamill (62 minutes).

COLAISTE EOIN: Tomás Ó Faogáin; Ruairi Ó Cinnéide, Pádhraic Ó Luineacháin, Brian Mac Síthigh; Liam Mac Giolla Phádraig, Finn Ó Murchú, Iain Ó hEithir; Naoise M-Brádraigh, Séamus Ó Fiachna; Donncha Ó Ciardha, Tomás Ó hEachthigheirn, Con Mac Aonasa; Pádraig Puirséil, Dónal Mac Duinnsléibhe, Eoghan Ó Cealláin. Subs: Tomás Ó Néill (half time).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.