Kildare pick up valuable two points against Clare

Lilies withstand second half come back by The Banner

Tommy Callaghan


Tommy Callaghan


Kildare v Clare

Kildare Fergal Conway holds off the challenge of Clare Aaron Fitzgerald during the Allianz Football League Division 2 Round 4 game played at St Conleth Park, Newbridge

Kildare captured two valuable points in the AFL Division 2 clash with a fully deserved six point win over Clare at St Conleth's Park, this afternoon.

The win was set up in an impressive opening half when The Lilies led at the break 1-10 to 0-5, ,the goal coming from a Kevin Feely penalty after Ben McCormack was taken down; Gordon Kelly getting a 10 minute stretch in the bin.

Clare certainly upped their game on the resumption and got the lead back to three points with 55 minutes on the clock,

A Jimmy Hyland point settled the nerves, before Kevin O'Callaghan was sin binned but Kildare added a further three keeping Clare scoreless for all of 14 minutes.

Before the final whistle Clare were reduced to 14 after Cormac Murray was given a straight after making contact with Eoin Doyle.

Final score: Kildare 1-16 Clare 0-13

Scorers: Kildare, Neil Flynn 0-5 (3 frees 1 mark), Ben McCormack 0-3, Kevin Feely 1-1 (penalty, sideline), Jimmy Hyland 0-3, Tommy Moolick 0-2, David Hyland 0-1, Adam Tyrrell 0-1 (free).

Clare, Jamie Malone 0-5, Eoin Cleary 0-5 (sline, 3 frees), Dvid Turbidy 0-1 (free), Keelan Sexton 0-1 (45), Cathal O'Connor 0-1.

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan; Mark Dempsey, Mick O'Grady, David Hyland; Jason Gibbons, Eoin Doyle cpt., Peter Kelly; Kevin Feely, Tommy Moolick; Paddy Brophy, Fergal Conway; Keith Cribbin; Neil Quinn, Ben McCormack, Jimmy Hyland. Subs: Aaron Masterson for Tommy Moolick (49 minutes); Adam Tyrrell for Paddy Brophy (55 minutes); Kevin O'Callaghan for Keith Cribbin (56 minutes); Cian O'Donoghue for Jason Gibbons (60 minutes); James Murray for Ben McCormack (66 minutes).

CLARE: Pierce DeLoughrey; Kevin Harnett, Cillian Brennan, Gordon Kelly; Dean Ryan, Aaron Fitzgerald, Conalll Ó hAinifein; Gary Brennan cpt, Eoin Cleary; Cian O'Dea, Jamie Malone, Dale Masterson; Cathal O'Connor, Keelan Sexton, David Tubridy. Subs: Kieran Malone for Dean Ryan (half time); Cormac Murray for Keelan Sexton (half time); Gearold O'Brien for Dale Masterson (50 minutes); Sean Collins for Dean Ryan (50 minutes); Gavin Cooney for David Tubridy (68 minutes);

REFEREE: Padraig O'Sullivan.