Holders, Naas CBS, put down a firm marker in Bosco Cup

Scoil Mhuire, Clane, have no answer to Ronan Joyce's impressive side in Bosco Cup quarter final

Tommy Callaghan


Tommy Callaghan



Holders, Naas CBS, put down a firm marker  in Bosco Cup

Naas CBS Cormac O'Gallagher and Scoil Mhuire Clane Sam McCormack compete for the ball during the Post Primary Leinster A Quarter Final Played at Hawkfield

Bro. Bosco Cup holders and Leinster champions, Naas CBS, put down a firm marker that they won't relinquish their title without a fight after a very impressive display today in Kildare GAA's COE in Hawkfield, when handing out a 23 point hiding to Scoil Mhuire, Clane.

Leading at the break 1-9 to 0-3, the goal coming from star man Michael McGovern, they completely dominated the second half, adding no less than 3-10 to a mere two points from the Clane side.

And when you consider that Alex Beirne came off the bench to fire over three excellent points, while even better, Conor Murphy, who was introduced in the 47 minute, raised two green flags.

Naas look very strong and this time around they seem to have an extremely strong bench, as they can now look forward to a Leinster Senior 'A' semi final, the draw of which will be made this coming week.

Final score: Naas CBS 4-19 Scoil Mhuire Clane 0-5.

Scorers: Naas CBS, Michael McGovern 1-6 (4 frees), Conor Murphy 2-0, Dermot Hanifin 1-1, Drew Costello 0-3 (3 45s), Alex Beirne 0-3, Kevin Quinn 0-2, Simon Murphy 0-2, Kevin Kelleher 0-1, Aidan Dunlea 0-1.

Scoil Mhuire, Clane, Shane O'Sullivan 0-4 (3 frees), Sam McCormck 1-1.

NAAS CBS: Dave Morrisseyi; Jack Hamill, Conall Ó Gallachobhair, Conán Boran; John Lawler, Kevin Kelleher Paddy McDermott; Eoin Archbold, Jack Cleary; Kevin Quinn, Tony O'Connor, Dermot Hanifin; Drew Costello. Simon Murphy, Mickey McGovern. Subs: Alex Beirne for Eoin Archbold (36 minute); Conor Murphy for Drew Costello (47 minutes); Liam Broderick for Jack Cleary (50 minute Kevin Kelleher (51  minutes); Harry Carroll for John Lawler (56 minutes); Murray O'Byrne for Dermot Hanifin (58 minutes).

SCOIL MHUIRE, CLANE: Cian Burke; Sean Connolly, Arlo Graham, Eoin Walsh; Conor Ward, John Lynch, Conor Walsh; Sam McCormack, James Behan; Mark Kelly, Shane O'Sullivan, Shane O'Connor; Dean O'Shea, Eogan O'Haire, Danny Vaughan. Subs: Daniel O'Gorman for Arlo Graham (29 minutes), Oisin O'Sullivan for Mark Kelly (51 minutes).

Referee: Eoin Hand, Louth.

Full results Bro Bosco Cup quarter finals results: 

Colaiste Eoin 1-7  Moate CS 2-4 (aet);

Naas CBS 4-19 Sc Mhuire Clane 1-5     

Marist Athlone 2-6  St. Pat’s Navan 4-8;

Offaly Schools 0-9    Wicklow Schools 4-7