06 Dec 2021

Kildare's Maynooth University out of Sigerson

Two point defeat for Johnny Doyle's side

Kildare's Maynooth University out of Sigerson

Podge Fogarty top scorer for Maynooth University against St Mary's

Maynooth University, managed by Kildare's Johnny Doyle, crashed out of the Sigerson Cup at the quarter-final stage in DKIT on this afternoon, losing out by two points, 0-15 to-13.

Holding a one-point lead at half-time, Maynooth University’s style of containment couldn’t suppress St. Mary’s of Belfast, who scored four points after half-time to eventually register the win.

One of the few players to stand-out, Podge Fogarty finished Maynooth's top scorer, registering four first-half frees and a free and a ’45 in the second-half.

Struggling to score freely from open play, Maynooth's cautious approach and lateral passing meant Jimmy Hyland only managed two left-footed frees. Symptomatic of differences in styles employed by both managements, corner-forward, Stephen O’Hanlon, was the only real scoring threat for Maynooth University.

St. Mary’s preferred to attack through the centre of Maynooth University’s defence. Midfielder, Jarlath Óg Burns, provided this forward momentum, linking well with his forward line, while Maynooth University eventually replaced both their midfielders.

Maynooth University scored five of their eight first-half points through frees, and overall, they only scored five of their thirteen points from play. St. Mary’s on the other hand, scored two-thirds of their points from play.

St. Mary’s were by far a more balanced team, with their corner-back and corner-forwards given the instructions to move the ball fast and attack the Maynooth University defence.

The game was level on four occasions in the first-half, yet Maynooth University took a 0-8 to 0-7 lead in half-time through Jason Gibbons late point, for once running directly at St. Mary’s defence.

Maynooth University lost the game in the closing two minutes of the first-half and the opening eight minutes of the second-half.

Creating a two-point margin by the 28th minute through Fogarty and Gibbons, Maynooth University allowed St. Mary’s to close the margin to the minimum by half-time.

Instead of re-establishing the semblance of dominance that they had held in the first-half, Maynooth University were stunned by St. Mary’s intensity in the opening minutes of the second-half.

Scoring four points in quick succession, St. Mary’s led 0-11 to 0-8 in the 38th minute through their top scorers, Shane McGuigan and Stephen McConville, along with a point from Ryan Coleman.

By the time that McGuigan kicked his third point, Maynooth had a missed free, a wide and had dropped a ball into the St. Mary’s ‘keeper’s hands.

Fogarty responded with a well-taken ’45, and while Hyland has had more lively games, his second free left just one-point between the sides in the 42nd minute.

McGuigan re-established Mary’s lead, but substitute, Paddy Brophy, kicked the score of the game before O’Hanlon levelled the game at 0-12 apiece in the 49th minute.

After half-back, Colm Byrne, scored his second point, Hyland uncharacteristically let a scoreable free slip past the outside of the post.

At the other end, McGuigan compounded this miss by kicking his fifth point. Then setting-up Niall Toner, St. Mary’s carved-out a three-point margin with three minutes remaining.

In the end, as the festering, game-long niggle developed into a decent scrap, Maynooth University had a shout for a David Malone penalty given as a free, to which Fogarty kicked over the bar for his sixth point.

Scorers: St. Mary’s University,  S McGuigan 0-5 (3fs); S McConville 0-3 (2fs); C Byrne 0-2; L Rafferty, J Óg Burns, L Devlin, R Coleman and N Toner 0-1 each.

Maynooth University, P Fogarty 0-6 (5fs, 1 ’45); S O’Hanlon 0-3; J Hyland 0-2fs; J Gibbons and P Brophy 0-1 each.

ST. MARY’S UNIVERSITY: Marc Reid; Liam Rafferty, Caolan Dillion, Michael Rooney; Colm Byrne, Ryan McCusker, Aaron Duffy; Jarlath Óg Burns, Liam Devlin; Stephen McConville, Shane McGuigan, Aaron Boyle; Niall Toner, Ryan Coleman, Cahair McKinney. Subs: Ryan McSherry for McKinney (43 mins); Daniel McKinless for Rooney (49).

MAYNOOTH UNIVERSITY: Niall Carrie; Niall O’Sullivan, James Kelly, Mark Hyland; Daniel Courtney, Jason Gibbons, Emmet Maloney; Ethan Devine, Darragh Lyons; Ruadhán Ó’Giolláin, Niall O’Donnell, Stephen Comerford; Stephen O’Hanlon, Pádraig Fogarty, Jimmy Hyland. SUBS: Paddy Brophy for Lyons (h/t); Kevin O’Callaghan for Comerford (43 mins); David Malone for Devine (55); Kane Barrett for Ó’Giolláin (57).

REFEREE: Kevin Faloon (Armagh)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.