28 Nov 2021

Naas CBS ease past St Mel's in the Bro Bosco Cup

Holders into last eight

Naas CBS ease past St Mel's in the Bro Bosco Cup

Naas CBS Mikey McGovern pushes his way past the challenge of St Mels Darren Moffitt during the Post Primary Leinster Senior Football Championship

Naas CBS eased into the quarter finals of the Br. Bosco Cup with an impressive twelve point victory over St.Mels of Longford in Raheens, this afternoon on a final score line of Naas CBS 2-18 St Mels of Longford 1-9

Goals in either half from Adam Byrne and Dermot Hanafin set the defending Leinster Champions up for the victory as they proved too powerful for the Longford School.

The Ronan Joyce coached team were very fluent up front with Hanafin, Byrne and Mikey McGovern notching 2-12 between them as they caused St. Mels untold trouble.

Naas led at the break 1-7 to 0-5.

If the result was in any doubt it was well and truly put to bed in the opening ten minutes of the second half as Naas struck 1-3 without reply, going on to win comfortably.

Naas CBS; David Morrissey (Naas); John Lawler (Eadestown), Conall O’Gallachobhair (Blessington), Jack Hamill (Raheens), Kevin Quinn (Blessington), Kevin Kelleher (Ballymore Eustace) 0-1, Paddy McDermott (Naas), Jack Cleary (Naas), Eoin Archbold (Naas), Drew Costello (Naas), Alex Beirne (Naas) 0-1, Simon Murphy (Ballymore Eustace) 0-3, Dermot Hanafin (Naas) 1-2, Eoin Conneff (Eadestown) 0-1, Mikey McGovern (Raheens) 0-7 (0-3fs). Subs: Adam Byrne (Two Mile House) 1-3 for Conneff 15 mins, Liam Broderick (Ballymore Eustace) for Archbold 40 mins, Murray O’Byrne (Newtown Gaels) for Quinn 50 mins, Conor Murphy (Raheens) for Murphy 60 mins.

St.Mels Longford: Eoin McGuinness, Jake Donnelly 0-1, Dario Cigliano, Darren Moffitt, Cian O’Nuallain, James Moran, Sean O’Sullivan, Eunan Finneran 0-1, Tadhg McNevin, Diarmuid Sheehan, Darragh O’Connell, Daniel Reynolds, Cian Cassidy 1-0, Paulis Merkelis, Cian Dooner 0-7 (0-4fs). Subs: Shane Girna for Cigliano 20 mins, Jack Duggan for Sheehan 40 mins, Maitiu O’Donohoe for Finneran 54 mins, Mario Pirlog for Girna 60 mins.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.