Naas stroll into MFC decider

Aylmer Gaels give way to superior side

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Naas stroll into MFC decider

Top scorer for Naas, Darragh Kirwan

Naas booked a place in this season's Manguard Plus Minor 'A' Football following a comprehensive win over Aylmer Gaels at Hawkfield on Tuesday night last.

Star of the show was Naas no. 10, Darragh Kirwan, who scored 1-9 in total, closed followed by strong performances from Colm Joyce and Luke Griffing.

Naas lead at the break 0-9 to 0-3 and pulled away with the assistance of the strong breeze to eventually win on a final score line of Naas 2-22 Aylmer Gaels 1-8.

The boys from the county town now await the winners of tonight's second semi final between Clane and Eadestown which throws in at Hawkfield at 7.30

Naas: David Morrissey; Eoghan Prizeman, Mark Maguire, Eamonn Dunne, Paddy McDermott 0-1, Eoin Archbold, Rian Monaghan, Ian Blackburne, Drew Costello, Jack Cleary, Darragh Kirwan 1-9, Colm Joyce 0-5 (0-2fs), Sam Morrissey, Luke Griffin 0-6 (0-4fs), Dermot Hanafin. Subs: Ronan Kelly for Costello 43 mins, Tom Browne 1-1 for Prizeman 50 mins, Cormac Dempsey for S.Morrissey 50 mins, Billy Byrne for Griffin 50 mins, Joe Murphy for Kirwan 60 mins.

Aylmer Gaels: Luke Anderson; Sean Moran, Craig Lenehan, Padraig Hanley, Conor Hanley, Mark Byrne, Thomas Callan, Eoin Bagnall 0-5 (0-5fs), Fionn Moran, Jack Turbett 1-1, Billy Maher, Billy McNamee, Fionn Murphy, Darren Judge 0-2, Fionn Gallagher. Subs: Scott Smyth for F.Moran 40 mins, Colm Moran for McNamee 41 mins, Joe Cluskey for Lenahan 54 mins, Cian Loughlin for Gallagher 54 mins, Ciaran Bagnall for C.Hanley 56 mins, Daniel O’Gorman for Wyse 60 mins.