07 Dec 2021

Kildare's Jimmy Hyland named U20 Football of the Year

Six Lilywhites on EirGrid U20 Football Squad of 2018

Kildare's Jimmy Hyland named U20 Football of the Year

Jimmy Hyland

Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague) has been named as EirGrid U20 Football Player of the Year for 2018, while a total of six Kildare players have been honoured among the top 20 players of the U20 Football Championship.

Jimmy was presented with his award this lunchtime at a function in Dublin.

The Ballyteague man who was awarded man of the match in the Leinster Final, the All Ireland semi final and the All Ireland final, three games in which he totaled a combined score of 1-25.

Also nominated for Player of the Year was Moorefield's Aaron Masterson.

The six Kildare players among the 20 Players honoured from the U20 Championship include Aaron O'Neill (Carbury); Mark Dempsey (Moorefield), Mark Barrett (Ballymore Eustace), Aaron Masterson (Moorefield), Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague) and Brian McLoughlin (Clane).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.