05 Dec 2021

Ugly scenes after final between Milltown and Balykelly

Rheban overcome Robertstown; Milltown defeat Ballykelly

Rheban overcome Robertstown to book final spot

There were ugly scenes after the final whistle of the Milltown v Ballykelly semi final,  a game Milltown won 1-18 to 1-10.

While there was a player from each side sent off on 59 minutres,  overall the game was not dirty by any means.

However fisticuffs went on for a few minutes after the referee had called time.

Milltown led at the break 1-9 to 0-5 and while Ballykelly reduced the lead to three in the second half they never really looked like getting any closer and eventually Milltown going on to win and set up a final with Rheban.

Scorers: Milltown, Ian Fitzgerld 0-9 (8 frees), Ronan O'Shea 0-2, Kevin Dowling 1-0, Morgan Owen 0-2, Colin O'Shea 0-2, Robbie Scully 0-1, Omar Dunne 0-1, Alan Dignam 0-1.

Ballykelly, Lee Moore 0-7 (6 frees), Darryl Cullen 1-1, Kevin Donoghue 0-1, Pauric Cullen 0-1.

Rheban upset the odds at St Conleth's Park on Saturday evening when disposing of a fancied Robertstown to reach the fonal of the Tom Cross JFC final.

Rheban led at the break by two, 1-7 to 1-5 and two straight reds for Robertstown in the second  half all settled this one as Rheban ran out comfortable winners on a final score line of  Rheban 2-17 Robertstown 1-7.

Scorers: Rheban, Stehen Lawlor 1-3 (1 free), Pa Byrne 0-6 (4 frees), Nathan Robinson 1-2, Barry Foy 0-2, Darren Lawlor 0-1, Corry Moore 0-1 (free), Nathan Owens 0-1, Brandan Shaw 0-1.

Robertstown, Mark Kelly 1-0, Damien Leeson 0-2, Danny Scully 0-2, Aidan Dunne 0-2 (free), Noel Byrne 0-1, Murray O'Byrne 0-1.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.