28 Nov 2021

Naas' Maurice Kelly selected on Ireland Senior Golf team

Naas' Maurice Kelly selected on Ireland Senior Golf team

Maurice Kelly, Naas Golf Club

Maurice Kelly (Naas GC) has been named in the six man Ireland team for the European Senior Men’s Team Championship at The Diamond Country Club, Austria from September 4 to 8.

Three members of last year’s winning team return for the title defence: Jim Carvill (Banbridge), John Mitchell (Tramore) and Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock). Maurice Kelly (Naas) last played in 2016 and there are two new caps: Steven Graham (East Sussex National) and Barry Hobson (Malone). 

Ireland are the reigning European champions having captured their sixth title last year in Sweden. Portmarnock’s Adrian Morrow was the hero on that occasion, winning the decisive point at the 21st hole in the final against Denmark.

Ireland – European Senior Men’s Team Championship, 4-8 September, Diamond CC, Austria: Jim Carvill (Banbridge), Steven Graham (East Sussex National), Barry Hobson (Malone), Maurice Kelly (Naas), John Mitchell (Tramoe), Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock).

 Team Captain: Michael Coote (Tralee)

Team Manager: Barry Doyle (Carlow)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.