07 Dec 2021

Moorefield's O'Connor and Murray honoured on inaugural GAA Club Players’ Football team of the year

Leinster Champs

Moorefield's O'Connor and Murray honoured on inaugural GAA Club Players’ Football team of the year

Eanna O'Connor and James Murray

Two players from the Moorefield team have been honoured on this year’s inaugural AIB GAA Club Players’ Football team.

Eanna O’Connor and James Murray both had a fantastic season with the club, who were crowned Leinster champions in December, after a last gasp defeat to Loman’s of Westmeath.

Both players played a pivotal role in the club’s success last year.

The duo are the sole representatives from Leinster.

Both players are named on Cian O’Neill’s Kildare panel for 2018.

The new GAA initiative has reviewed the outstanding performances at provincial and All-Ireland level in the AIB Club Championships with a cross-section of GAA media voting on a final 15.

All-Ireland champs, Galway’s Corofin, dominate the list, with six winners making the awards team.


1. Antóin McMullan (Slaightneil)

2. Liam Silke (Corofin)

3. Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin)

4. Karl McKaigue (Slaughtneil)

5. James Murray (Moorefield)

6. Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil)

7. Dylan Wall (Corofin)

8. Alan O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

9. Michael Farragher (Corofin)

10. Eanna O’Connor (Moorefield

11. Christopher Bradley (Slaughtneil)

12. Ian Burke (Corofin)

13. Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar)

14. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

15. Martin Farragher (Corofin)


Ian Burke (Corofin), Michael Farragher (Corofin), Liam Silke (Corofin)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.