Interprovincial finals change of date

Five Kildare players named on Leinster squad

Tommy Callaghan


Tommy Callaghan

Interprovincial finals change of date

Leinster selector Johnny Doyle

Not for the first time the holding of the interprovincial football and hurling semi finals and finals, due this weekend have been hit with a fixture problem.

Due to the funeral of Ulster GAA Secretary, Danny Murphy, the finals of the Interprovincial Series have been postponed.

The Ulster V Munster Football semi-final will now take place on Sunday, December 11 in Parnell Park at 2.00pm.

The Ulster V Munster Hurling Semi-final will take on Sunday in Thurles at 1.45pm.

The CCCC will meet on Sunday evening to determine the dates and times for the Interprovincial Finals.

The Leinster V Connacht (football) fixture remain as scheduled for Saturday, December 10, with the hurling taking place MacDonagh Park, Nenagh at 2.45pm.

Meanwhile five Kildare players have been named on the Leinster panel for Saturday’s clash against Connacht. Managed by Meath’s Sean Kelly with selectors Johnny Doyle (Kildare) and Vinny Claffey of Offaly.

There are no Dublin players on the Leinster panel, due to the All Ireland champions being away on holiday which of course means that Leinster will have no players from Division 1 to call on.

The full Leinster panel is as follows:

P Rath (Lough); Eoghan O’Flaherty, Padraig O’Neill, Cathal McNally, Tommy Moolick and Ollie Lyons (Kildare); R. Connellan, K Martin, P. Sharry, J.Heslin (Westmeath); D. Kingston, E. O’Carroll (Laois); J. Maloney, G. Guilfoyle, A.Mulhall, N McNamee (Offaly; D. Healy (Wicklow), B. Malone (Wexford). S Bray, I. Keoghan, G. Reilly (Meath), D St Leger (Carlow), B. Gilleran, P. Collum (Longford).