06 Dec 2021

Conway and Keegan Kildare county players of 2016

Kildare GAA Awards Night

Conway and Keegan Kildare county players of 2016

Fergal Conway, Kildare County Football of the Year

Fergal Conway and Gerry Keegan made it a Celbridge double as they were presented with the county senior football and county senior hurler of the year awards at the Kildare GAA Annual Awards ceremony at Celbridge Manor Hotel, last night (Saturday).

In front of a big attendance MC, Ger McNally, took us through the season at club and county, hurling and football.

Co Board Chairman, Ger Donnelly, congratulated all the winners and had a special word for Kildare Minor Footballers who made it back-to-back Leinster titles, under manager Brendan Hackett, while also paying tribute to the Kildare hurling team of 1966 who won the Junior All Ireland final that year and were special guests on the night. Kildare senior hurlers, winners of the Kehoe Cup were also honoured.

On the club scene Sarsfields' Ben McCormack picked up the Senior Club Footballer of the Year, with Patrick Curtin making it a magnificent night for the Celbridge club when chosen as the Senior Hurling Club player of the year.

Chris Healy (Two Mile House) won the Intermediate Club Footballer of the Year with Darran Barker (Kilcullen)  taking the Junior Football award.

The Intermediate Club Hurler of the year went to Tadhg Forde of Maynoowth with Sallins’ T J Gordan winning the junior hurler of the year.

The Handballer of the Year went to Paul Moran of Leixlip.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.