07 Aug 2022

Naas minors advance

Leinster minor competition

Naas minors advance

Daragh Merriman

Naas minor footballers edged out Louth champions (St Martin’s) by two points (2-13 to 1-14) in an exciting contest in the Leinster Minor football competition last weekend.

St.Martin’s started strongly with a Paddy Usher goal in the first minute. Naas captain Ciaran Doyle and Conor Whelan exchanged points. Two Darragh Kirwan points left Naas one point in arrears. The Louth side responded with three points to take a four point lead 1-4 to 0-3. Two Ciaran Doyle points left one between them. After fifteen minutes Darragh Kirwan goaled to give the Kildare side the lead. St. Martins finished the stronger scoring four points against two for Naas. The Dundalk side led by one point at half –time 1-8 to 1-7.

Luke Griffin opened the scoring for Naas in the second half Sam Mulroy (St. Martin’s) and Colm Joyce (Naas) swapped points. The Louth side now took control and with a brace of points from Eoghan Callahan and Conor Whelan and one from Mark McCullough they took a five point lead going into the last quarter.

This was the last of their scoring for the day and Naas took complete control in the last quarter with a Darragh Merriman penalty and points from Caran Doyle (2) Darragh Kirwan and Dallen Gallagher they secured a two point victory.

Naas: Luke Mullins, Cathal Daly, Conor McCarthy, Brian Stynes, Simon Lacey,Davy Shaw, Adam Cronin,Ben Blackbourne, James Burke, Colm Joyce (0-1), Darragh Merriman (1-0), Mikey Kenny, Luke Griffin (0-2), Darragh Kirwan (1-4.), Ciaran Doyle (0-5). Sub: Dallen Gallagher (0-1).

St. Martins: Luke Mitchell, Andrew Clarke, Shane Morgan, Mark Whelan, Sean Faulkner, Eoghan Callahan(0 – 2), Jack McCarville, Joe Mcgrane (0-1), Conor Morgan, Paddy Usher (1-0), Mark McCullough (0-1), Jack Murphy (0-1), Conor Whelan (0-6), Sam Mulroy (0-3), James Martin.

Referee: David Hickey.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.