MFC final

Naas defeat Clane to clinch Minor title

Tommy Callaghan


Tommy Callaghan

Naas defeat Clane to clinch Minor title

Luke Griffin of Naas scores a point after getting past Mark Brien of Clane in the KWETB Minor football final at St Conleth's Park, Newbridge.

Naas captured the KWETB Minor Football Championship title today, following a fully deserved four point over Clane who suffered their second minor final defeat in a row.

Naas, playing with a strong wind in the opening half took control and led 0-7 to 0-1 after 21 minutes but were rocked when Clane's Ciaran Kelly, found the Naas net.

Naas led 0-11 to 1-3 at the break.

On the resumption Clane, as expected, hit back, led by Ciaran Kelly but while they got back within three points, Naas, with man-of-the-match Daragh Kirwan, in superb form, along with team captain Ciaran Doyle, deservedly held out for the win.

Final score, Naas 0-18 Clane 1-11.

Scorers: Naas Daragh Kirwan 0-5, Daragh Merriman 0-4 (4 frees), Shane Ryan 0-3, Colm Joyce 0-2 (2 frees), Ciarn Doyle 0-2, Luke Griffin 0-2.

Clane, Ciaran Kelly 1-8 (6 frees), Shane O’Sullivan 0-1, Caolan Smith 0-1, Sam McCormack 0-1.