27 Jun 2022

Cill Dara capture Jimmy Bruen Shield after titanic battle

All Ireland title clinched on 19th hole

Cill Dara capture Jimmy Bruen Shield after titanic battle

Christy Roche, along with Paddy Hopkins clinched the tittle in the last game on the 19th hole

Cill Dara Golf Club had a magnificent 19th hole victory to capture the AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield on Saturday in the final at held at Carton House.

Taking on Athenry in the final the game was tied at 2-2 so it was all down to the last game with two Cill Dara stalwarts, Christy Roche and Paddy Hopkins battling it out.

Level after 18 it was down to the 19th where the Cill Dara got the all important win to clinch the All Ireland title 3-2.

Full result, Cill Dara names first: Ray Mackey & Christopher Harhen lost to Ethan Regan & Oisin O’Connell 2&1; James Dunne & Ciaran Ryan lost to David Flaherty & David Mooney 2 holes; David Kelly & Dessie Scahill beat Sean O’Connell & Paul Molloy 3&2; David Fox & Declan Plunkett beat Ian Kelly & Mark Moran 2&1 and Paddy Hopkins & Christy Roche beat Ciaran Coughlan & Seamus Burke 19th.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.