Search our Archive


Celbridge crowned SHC of Kildare

Celbridge crowned SHC of Kildare

Fergal Conway of Celbridge tries to get away from Philip Cocoman, Richard Ryan and John O Malley in the Senor Hurling final at St Conleth's Park, Newbridge. Photo: Adrian Melia

Celbridge were crowned senior hurling champions of Kildare after defeating a disappointing Naas side at St Conleth’s Park, this afternoon.

In a game that never reached the expected heights, Celbridge were dominant throughout and led 0-10 to 0-3 at the break.

Naas did improve somewhat in the second half but never put any real pressure on Celbridge with the Naas goal coming in the 62 minute from their only scorer on the day, Jack Sheridan.

Final score line Celbridge 0-17 Naas 1-8.

Scorers: Celbridge, Gerry Keegan 0-10 (6 frees, 65), Billy White 0-2, Patrick Curtin 0-1, Leo Quinn 0-1, Sam White 0-1, Thomas Fitzgerald 0-1, Mark Moloney 0-1.

Naas, Jack Sheridan 1-8 (1-7 from frees).

Read extensive report, reaction and picture coverage in this week’s Leinster Leader, in the shops Tuesday morning.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.