24 Jan 2022

Kildare GAA; Monasterevan join Leixlip in IFC final

One point to spare over Clogherinkoe in tense and exciting semi final

ILEL Saturday Game 2

Monasterevan Lenny Havens gets caught up in the challenge of Clogherinkoe Conor Grehan during the Pittman Traffic Intermediate Football Championship Semi Final

Monasterevan are through to meet Leixlip in the final of the Pittman Traffic IFC following a one point win over Clogherinkoe at St Conleth's Park, this afternoon, in a tense game that was in the balance right up to the final whistle.

A game that Clogherinkoe led for long periods but never much separating the sides, The Cloghes led by one at the break 0-6 to 0-5.

The second half saw two second half penalities, one to each, both scored

but it was Monasterevan who kicked on scoring four points on the trot to go two clear and while Clogherinkoe came back with a Jack Robinson free, it was not enough as Monasterevan held possession for the last few minutes until the fina whistle arrived.

Final whistle Monasterevan 1-9 Clogherinkoe 1-8.

Scorers: Monasterevan, Padraig Nash 1-2 (1 free, penalty), Ryan Bannon 0-4 (3 frees), Paul Maloney 0-1, Eoin Stapleton 0-1, Kevin Mulpeter 0-1.

Clogherinkoe, Jack Robinson 0-3 (1 free), Mark Nolan 1-1 (penalty), Mark Grehan 0-1, Danny Greyan 0-1, Cein McMonagle 0-1, Ciaran Gravin 0-1(free).

MONASTEREVAN: Keith Wilkinson; Conor Grehan, Elian Scanlon, Joe Mulraney; AndrewHeduvan, Gavin Scanlon, Killian Galligan; Glenn Basnett, Mark Grehan; Dean Hanley, Danny Grehan, Brian Robinson; Jack Robinson, Cein McMonagle, Mark Nolan. Subs: Mark Kelly for Kevin Fitzpatrick (half time); Kevin Mulpeter for Lenny Havlens (40 minutes); Cormac Brady for Sean Kavanagh (52 minutes); Gary Morrissey for Padraig Nash (63 minutes);

CLOGHEIRNKOE: Aaron Bannon; Daryl Dunne, Gavin Worrell, Cormac Stapleton; Kevin Dunne, Tristan Kennedy, DJ Earley; Sean Kavanagh, Eoin Stapleton; Lenny Havens, Paul Maloney, John O'Toole; Kevin Fitzpatrick, Ryan Bannon, Padraig Nash. Subs: Ciaran Gravin for Cein McMonagle (35 minutes); Jack Sutton for Joe Mulraney (42 minutes); Conor Swan for Conor Grehan (52 minutes); Cian McMonagle for Mark Nolan (60 minutes).

Referee: Brendan Cawley

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.