28 Nov 2021

Hyland stars as Lilies flourish against The Garden boys

Kildare demolish Wicklow

Hyland stars as Lilies flourish against The Garden boys

Padraig Nash avoids the shoulder charge of Wicklow Jacques McCall during the Eirgrid Leinster Football U20 Championship

Jimmy Hyland put on a masterful display of point scoring as Kildare demolished Wicklow in Round 3 of the Leinster U20 football Championship at St Conleth’s Park on Satuday (June 16) on a final score line of Kildare 3-16 Wicklow 0-4.

Although Wicklow scored two of the opening three points of the game that was as good as it got for them as Kildare took complete control leading by 1-11 to 0-2 at the break before going on to win on a final score line Kildare 3-16 Wicklow 0-4.

Kildare will be action again this coming Friday when they take on Carlow at St Conleth’s Park.

Scorers: Kildare, Jimmy Hyland 0-11 (3 frees), Padraig Nash 2-0, Brian McLoughlin 1-1, Tony Archbold 0-1, Paddy Woodgate 0-1 (free), Stephen Comereford 0-1, Jack Bambrick 0-1.

Wicklow, Dan Kelly 0-3 (2 frees), Conor Byrne 0-1 (free).

KILDARE: Aaron O’Neill (Carbury); Mark Barrett (Ballymore Eustace), Mark Dempsey (Moorefield), DJ Earley (Monasterevan), Stephen Comerford (Round Towers), Jack Bambrick (Ardclough) Ruadhan Ó Giolláin (Maynooth); Aaron Masterson cpt (Moorefield), David Marnell (Sarsfields); Darragh Ryan (Sarsfields), Sam Doran (Johnstownbridge), Tony Archbold (Celbridge); Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague), Brian McLoughlin (Clane), Paddy Woodgate (Raheens). Subs: Padraig Nash (Monasterevan) for Sam Doran (half time); Niall Murphy (Ballymore Eustace) for Brian McLoughlin (40 minutes); Matthew Bett Symonds (Raheens) for Aaron Masterson (45 minutes); Jack Cully (Carbury) for Paddy Woodgate (50 minutes); Cian Costigan (Sarsfields) for Jimmy Hyland (52 minutes).

WICKLOW: Tom McGurk; Jack Cotter,Conall Gallagher, Aaron Curran; Fintan O'Shea, Jacques McCall, Thomas Kearns; Padraig O'Toole, Ciaran Coffey; Jack Bellamy, Cathal Kelleher, Gearoid Murphy; Sean Gregory, Dan Kelly, Conor Byrne. Subs: Peter Hempenstall for Fintan O'Shea (30 minutes); Kevin Mulhall for Sean Gregory (36 minutes); Andrew Maher for Brian McLoughlin (41 minutes); Andrew Mahere for Aaron Curran (41 minutes); Ronan Murray for Cathal Kelleher (46 minutes); Eoghan Dolan for Jack Bellamy (48 minutes); James Hedderman for Jacques McCall (52 minutes).

REFEREE: Chris Dwyer, Offaly.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.