Naas defeat Maynooth to capture U20 title

Early silverware for Naas

Tommy Callaghan


Tommy Callaghan


Naas defeat Maynooth to capture U20 title

Ciaran Doyle in impressive form for Naas

Naas were crowned Kildare U20 football champions after a fully deserved six point win over Maynooth at a bitterly cold Manguard Plus Centre of Excellence in Hawkfield last evening (Thursday April 7).

On a dry but bitterly cold evening, Naas were full value for their win despite Maynooth making a gallant effort to cut back a ten point lead with just 13 minutes remaining.

Maynooth began well and certainly tested the Naas defence but Niall Cronin’s side were well up to the task and despite Danny O’Sullivan opening for the boys in black in white, it was the lads from the county town who forged ahead 0-5 to 0-1 after 20 minutes with points from the impressive Ciaran Doyle (3), Shane Ryan and Ultan McAleese.

Maynooth replied through Kevin Dunne and two frees from Eoin Donnellan but at the break the boys in blue and white led 0-6 to 0-4.

Ciaran Doyle and Danny O’Sullivan exchanged points before two goals inside a couple of minutes from full forward Shane Ryan and mid fielder Ben Blackbourne killed off the game as a contest and while Maynooth did come with a four point flurry late on there was no denying Naas as they clinched the title on a final score line of Naas 2-9 Maynooth 0-9.

NAAS: Dave Morrissey; David Shaw, Conor McCarthy, Joe Delaney; Cathal Daly, Cathal Dowling, Adam Cronin; Ben Blackbourne 1-0, Sean Cullen; Darragh Merriman, Dallan Gallagher 0-2, Ultan McAleese 0-1; Mikey Kenny, Shane Ryan 1-1, Ciaran Doyle 0-5 (2 frees). Subs: Barry Kehoe for McAleese (half time); Brian Stynes for Mikey Kenny (40 minutes); Keith O’Connor for Shane Ryan (56 minutes); Sam O’Neill for Darragh Merriman (61 minutes).

MAYNOOTH: Jack Cuthbert; Darragh Hurley, Paul Maguire, Ciaran Casey; Cian Whyte, Conor Lynch, Calum McCabe; Kevin Dunne 0-1, Ben Carroll; Conchur Ó Giolláin 0-1, Ruadhan Ó Giolláin cpt, Niall Sullivan; Ronan Dunne, Danny O’Sullivan 0-1, Eoin Donnellan 0-6 (5 frees). Subs: Daire Whelan for Cathal Quinn (25 minutes); Dara McCormack for Kevin Dunne (48 minutes).

REFEREE: Fintan Barrett. 0-1