07 Dec 2021

Lilies limp display in final Div 1 game

Another defeat for Kildare

Lilies limp display in final Div 1 game

Kildare Mark Hyland breaks the ball clear from Padraic Cunningham Galway during the Allianz National Football League game Division 1 Round 7 game

Kildare ended their Allianz Football League 2018 campaign against Galway with a very limp display in a game that lacked atmosphere, physicality or intensity.

Probably no surprise in that when one considers that Kildare had already been demoted while Galway have a League final to look forward to on Sunday against Dublin.

Kildare gave starting places to Aaron O’Neill in goals; while Mark Hyland started at no 4 with Éanna O’Connor also getting his first start of the season as did Eamonn Callaghan also started.

The game will be forgotten possibly before Monday morning as Galway, far from full strength led by 0-8 to 0-5 at the break after 35 minutes of extremely drab football.

The second half was not much better and while Kildare got within three points of their opponents late on, Galway had the wherewithall to tack on a few more scores to eventually win by six.

Manager Cian O’Neill confirmed he would be announcing his championship panel within a week or two but stressed that no one had left the panel as of now and while acknowledging that he and his management team have a lot of work to do, they are planning on a long summer despite their league campaign.

Scorers: Galway: Padraic Cunningham 0-3,  Seán Armstrong 0-3 (1 free), Patrick Sweeney 0-2, Seán Kelly 0-2, Eoin Finnerty 0-1, Johnny Duane 0-1, Cian Darcy 0-1, Adrian Varley 0-1, Shane Walsh 0-1 (free), Frankie Burke 0-1.

Kildare: Éanna O'Connor 0-4 (2 frees, 45), Tommy Moolick 0-1, Fergal Conway 0-1, Jimmy Hyland 0-1, Daniel Courtney 0-1, Paul Cribbin 0-1, Paddy Brophy 0-1

Galway: Ruairí Leville; EvanWynne, Declan Kyne, David Wynne; Gary O'Donnell, Johnny Duane, Gareth Bradshaw; Eamonn Brannigan, Ciarán Duggan; Thomas Flynn, Seán Kelly, Eoin Finnerty; Patrick Sweeney, Seán Armstrong, Padraic Cunningham. Subs: Shane Walsh for Sean Kelly (half time); Frankie Burke for Patrick Sweeney (46 miutes); Michael Daly for Eamonn Brannigan (blood sub 51-61minutes); Cian Darcy for Sean Armstrong (56 minutes); Michael Daly for Eoin Finnerty (62 minutes); Adrian Varley for Padraic Cunningham (67 minutes).

Kildare: Aaron O'Neill; Peter Kelly, David Hyland, Mark Hyland; Daniel Courtney, Eoin Doyle cpt., Kevin Flynn; Kevin Feely, Tommy Moolick; Fergal Conway, Keith Cribbin, Paul Cribbin; Jimmy Hyland, Éanna O'Connor, Paddy Brophy. Subs: Mark Dempsey for Mark Hyland (half time); Fionn Dowling for Fergal Conway (45 minutes); David Slattery for Eamonn Callaghan (48 minutes); Daniel Courney for Johnny Byrne (55 minutes); Ruadhan Ó Giollain for Jimmy Hyland (66 minutes).

REFEREE: Conor Lane, Cork.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.