29 Nov 2021

Naas CBS lose out to strong second half display from Rice College

Full match report

Naas CBS lose out to strong second half display from Rice College

Colm Joyce, scored two points for Naas CBS

Masita All Ireland Schools Senior Football semi final

Rice College, Mayo 0-13 Naas CBS 1-7

Kevin Egan at Padraig Pearses GAA, Roscommon

A devastating run of seven points without reply at the start of the second half was the winning of the game for Rice College of Westport as they overcame Naas CBS and secured their place in the final of the Hogan Cup at Croke Park on Saturday week.

These two first-time provincial winners met this afternoon at Padraig Pearses GAA grounds in South Roscommon and showed little signs of nervousness in the opening stages as they shared six points evenly inside the first ten minutes.

Luke Griffin was one the mark twice for Naas CBS in that time but the scores dried up from then for the Kildare students, who were playing with the aid of a deceptively strong breeze.

A slaloming run and powerful finish from Tony O’Connor gave Naas CBS a 1-5 to 0-5 interval lead, but they need more cushion as Rice College exploded out of the blocks after half time, hitting Pat Lambert with long, early ball. Lambert fired five points in total, all in the second half, as Rice moved into a four-point lead going into the closing minutes.

Late scores from Stephen Davis and Luke Griffin set up a dramatic finish but the closest Naas came to getting the goal they craved was a late free from John Lawler that was blocked on the line with the game’s final play.

Naas CBS (Naas club unless stated): David Morrissey; Eoghan Prizeman, Conall O’Gallchobhair (Blessington), Jack Hamill (Raheens); Cathal Daly (0-1), Jack Sargent (Eadestown), Brian Stynes; Ian Blackburne, Rian Boran; Barry Kehoe, Tony O’Connor (1-0, Two Mile House), Killian Thompson (Raheens); Colm Joyce (0-2, 0-1f), Luke Griffin (0-3, 0-1f), Darragh Kirwan. Subs: Liam Broderick (Ballymore) for Blackburne (35), Aaron Deegan (Ballymore) for Kirwan (44), Stephen Davis (0-1, Ballymore) for Thompson (45), Harry Carroll (Eadestown) for Kehoe (52), Murray O’Byrne (Robertstown) for Daly (56), John Lawlor (Eadestown) for Carroll (60+2, bc)

Rice College: Cian Kennedy; Luke Dawson, Rory Brickenden, Ray Walsh; Eoghan McLaughlin (0-1), Patrick Chambers (0-1), Michael Brady; Fintan McManamon, Mark Moran (0-1); Luke Tunney, Pat Lambert (0-5, 0-1f), Jack Carney; Cillian Heaney (0-1), Stephen Loftus (0-1f), Keith Joyce (0-3). Subs: Conor Calvey for Loftus (60+2), Kevin McGuire for Walsh (60+4, bc)

Referee: Martin McNally (Monaghan)


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.