19 Aug 2022

Lilies outclassed by Mayo

No answer to Mayo's power, strength and scoring ability

Lilies outclassed by Mayo

Mark Donnellan, made some vital saves despite Kildare's defeat

Kildare suffered their fifth defeat on the trot this afternoon at St Conleth’s Park at the hands of Mayo.

It is a result that will all but see The Lilies relegated to Division 2 come next season.

After a slow start, Kildare took the lead when Daniel Flynn found the Mayo net after 22 minutes to make it 1-4 to 0-5 but that was about as good as it got for Kildare as Mayo simply upped their game, tightened up at the back and got a vital goal on the stroke of half time from Aidan O’Shea and led at the break 1-9 to 1-4.

Mayo totally dominated the second half and but for Kildare keeper, Mark Donnellan, could have scored a few more goals but in the end there was no denying Mayo, who had most of the top players back in action on the day and it certainly showed.

Final score: Mayo 1-19 Kildare 1-12.

Scorers: Mayo, Aidan O'Shea 1-1, Cillian O'Connor 0-4 (3 frees), Andy Moran 0-3, Diarmuid O'Connor 0-2, Rob Hennelly 0-2 (2 frees), Adam Gallagher 0-2, Conor Loftus 0-2, Eoin O'Donoghue 0-1, Kevin McLoughlin 0-1, Jason Doherty 0-1

Kildare, Kevin Feely 0-5 (4 frees), Danial Flynn 1-0, Kevin Flynn 0-2, Paddy Brophy 0-1, Niall Kelly 0-1, Ben McCormack 0-1, Fionn Dowling 0-1, Fergal Conway 0-1.

MAYO: Rob Hennelly; Caolan Crowe, Ger Cafferekey, Eoin O'Donoghue; Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Tom Parsons; Stelphen Coen, Cillian O'Connor; Kevin McLoughlin, Aidan O'Shea, Diarmuid O'Connor; Jason Doherty, Andy Moran, Adam Gallagher. Subs: Seamus O'Shea for Tom Parsons (47 miutes); Conor Loftus for Adam Gallagher (51); Fergal Boland for Jason Doherty (63minutes); David Drake for Diarmuid O'Connor (69minutes); Barry Moran for Cillian O'Connor (69 minutes); Shane Nally for Colm Boyle (71 minutes).

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan; Peter Kelly, David Hyland, Mick O'Grady; Cian O'Donoghue, Eoin Doyle cpt., Kevin Flynn; Kevin Feely, Tommy Moolick; Fergal Conway, Niall Kelly, Keith Cribbin, David Slattery, Daniel Flynn, Paddy Brophy. Subs: Ben McCormack for David Slattery (45 minutes); Johnny Byrne for Keith Cribbin (46 minutes); Paul Cribbin for Paddy Brophy (52 minutes); Fionn Dowling for Tommy Moolick (53 minutes); Chris Healy for Fergal Conway (55 minutes); Jimmy Hyland for Kevin Flynn (58 minutes).



REFEREE: Martin McNally, Monaghan.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.