06 Dec 2021

Naas CBS crowned Leinster schools champions

Magnificent victory for Naas

Naas CBS crowned Leinster schools champions

Naas CBS joint captains Colm Joyce and Killian Thompson lift the Bro Bosco Cup

Naas CBS captured the Top Oil Leinster GAA Post Primary Schools Senior 'A' Football Championship and the Bro Bosco Cup, in dramatic fashion in O'Connor Park, Tullamore, this afternoon (Saturday March 11, winning on a final score line of Naas CBS 0-9 Marist College, Athlone 0-7.

In a low scoring game, not helped by a very heavy, greasy pitch and a very fussy match official, the Naas CBS team were never behind, led by three at the break (0-6 to 0-3) but came under intense pressure when Marist hit three points on the trot between the 44 and 51 minute to level up matters.

Naas CBS, though showed, not for the first time this season, they are more than capable of digging out a victory when required and they replied with two points from substitute Aaron Deegan and a beauty of a left footed effort from Darragh Kirwan to go two clear with six minutes remaining.

The Athlone boys threw everything at Naas at this stage and when midfielder, Rian Boran, picked up a second yellow the Kildare boys were under severe pressure.

However through a combination of some top class defending, along with it has to be said some dreadful finishing from the Athlone side, Naas held out to capture the title for the first time ever and bring the Bro Bosco, in this its first year in existence, to Naas.

A great win for Naas CBS who now march on to the All Ireland series when they take on the Mayo champions in two weeks time.

Scorers: Naas CBS, Darragh Kirwan 0-3, Colm Joyce 0-2 (2 frees), Luke Griffin 0-1, Killian Thompson 0-1, Rian Boran 0-1, Aaron Deegan 0-1.

Marist College, Athlone, Kieran Colclough 0-2 (1 free), Shane Cunnane 0-2 (2 frees), Josh Beaumont 0-2 (1 free), Ciaran sugrue 0-1,

NAAS CBS: David Morrissey (Naas); Eoghan Prizeman (Naas), Conall Ó Gallchobhair (Blessington), Jack Hamill (Raheens); Cathal Daly (Naas), Jack Sargent (Eadestown), Brian Stynes (Naas); Ian Blackburne (Naas), Ryan Boran (Naas); Barry Kehoe (Naas), Tony O'Connor (Two Mile House), Killian Thomspon jnt cpt (Raheens); Colm Joyce jt cpt (Naas), Luke Griffin (Naas), Darragh Kirawn (Naas). Subs: Stephen Davis (Ballymore Eustace) for Conall Ó Gallchobhair (26 minutes); Aaron Deegan (Ballymore Eustace) for Barry Kehoe (50 minutes); Liam Broderick (Ballymore Eustace) for Ian Blackburne (53 minutes); Harry Carroll (Eadestown) for Tony O'Connor (53 minutes).

MARIST COLLEGE: Cathal Dolan; Stephen McGonagle Pearse Frost, Keelan Connor; Ian O'Rourke, Eoin Mulvihill, Patrick McGettigan jt cpt; Kieran Colclough jt cpt, Shane Allen; Fred Kelleher, Eoghan Derwin, Sean Dowd; Tom O'Carroll, Shane Cunnane, Ciaran Sugrue. Subs: Rory Dempsey for Stephen McGonagle (blood sub 7-9 minutes); Josh Beaumont for Fred Kelleher (half time); Cian McBrearty for Eoghan Derwin (45 minutes); Donagh Prendergast for Sean Dowd (56 minutes); Billy McDonnell for Ian O'Rourke (61 minutes).

REFEREE: Seamus Mulhare, Laois.









To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.