06 Dec 2021

Great feeling says Moorefield captain Daryl Flynn

Leinster SFC Club semi final

Great feeling says Moorefield captain Daryl Flynn

Daryl Flynn, Moorefield captain

Great feeling to come to Aughrim and get back to another Leinster final was how Moorefield team captain Daryl Flynn described it after Sunday's AIB Leinster Club SFC semi final.

“Extremely tough as you can see from the conditions; two good, physical strong teams and I suppose it was always going to be a dog fight but thankfully we came out on top.”

Were you worried at half time after conceding an own goal?

“Bad time to concede just before the break, especially when we were three points ahead; but we came back out; went a few points ahead then conceded another goal but we simply had to knuckle down again, regain the initiative and that's what we did.”

It was a game that saw Moorefield take a goal lead within three minutes, Niall Hurley Lynch on the mark, although his strike did get the benefit of a deflection off Paul Merrigan.

Moorefield held a two point lead with half time approaching but an own goal put Rathangan into the lead. However a brilliant Eanna O'Connor point had the sides level at the break 1-5 apeice.

The second half saw Moorefield up their game opening a four point lead but a red card for Cian O'Connor certainly had the potential to put The Moores on the back foot and when Rathnew were awarded a penalty, cooly put away by Leighton Glynn, it left just a point separating the sides.

Moorefield, not for the first time though, upped their game, restored the lead to three before Mark Dempsey broke up a Rathnew attacked, combined with Eddie Heavey before planting the ball in the back of the Rathnew net that ensured Moorefield clinch a Leinster final spot on a final score line of Moorefield 2-13 Rathnew 2-7.

Scorers: Moorefield: Eanna O'Connor 0-8 (3 frees, 45), Niall Hurley Lynch 1-3, Mark Dempsey 1-0, Ian Meehan 0-2

Rathnew: Leighton Glynn 1-1 (penalty), Eddie Doyle 0-3 (1 free), James Stafford 0-1, Liam Healy (o.g.), Danny Staunton 0-1, Jody Merrigan 0-1.

Moorefield: Tom Kinsella, Seán Healy, Liam Healy, Liam Callaghan; Kevin Murnaghan, James Murray, Mark Dempsey; Daryl Flynn cpt., Aaron Masterson; Eddie Heavey, Cian O'Connor; Ian Meehan; Roli Sweeney, Niall Hurley Lynch, Eanna O'Connor. Subs: David Whyte for Aaron Masterson (44 minutes); Seán Dempsey for Seán Healy (50 minutes); Padraig O'Flynn for Liam Callaghan (61 minutes); Aaron Mullins for Niall Hurley Lynch (62 minutes).

Rathnew: Peter Dignam, Paul Merrigan, Damien Power, Jamie Snell; Warren Kavanagh, Ross O'Brien, Enan Glynn; James Stafford, Theo Smith; Stephen Byrne, Danny Staunton, Grahm Merrigan; Mark Doyle, Leighton Glynn cpt, Eddie Doyle. Subs: Jody Merrigan for Eddie Doyle (black card 40 minutes); Nicky Mernagh for Stephen Byrne (50 minutes); John Manley for Enan Glynn (53 minutes); Christopher Healy for Ross O'Brien (56 minutes).

Referee: John Hickey, Carlow.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.