01 Dec 2021

Dublin edge out Kildare minors by four

Dublin edge out Kildare minors by four

Dublin edge out Kildare to reach the final of the Leinster MFC final after a rip roaring contest at St Conleth’ s Park this evening.

Three points down at the break Kildare leveled within four minutes but Dublin regained their three point advantage within two minutes.

Dublin were catching Kildare on the break and there was little The Lilies could do. They did get it back to two but it was Dublin who deservedly prevailed to set up a final date with Louth.

In a rip-roaring opening half Kildare opened best going ahead with three points before Dublin got their opening point of the half, a free, after 16 minutes quickly followed by another free and while Kildare increased the lead to three with a Daragh Kirwan effort, gradually Dublin hit back with four points to take the lead and then hit the Kildare net with a David Lacey goal to lead 1-7 to 0-5 on 30 minutes.

Kildare finished the stronger with two excellent points from Shane O’Sullivan and a beauty  from Daragh Ryan to leave the halftime score reading Dublin 1-7 Kildare 0-7.


Kildare, Darragh Kirwan 0-4, Jack Barrett 0-3 (3 frees), Shane O’Sullivan 0-2, Findlay Nairn 0-1, James Burke 0-1, Daragh Ryan 0-1, Brian McDonnell 0-1, Jack Cully 0-1

Dublin, Ross McGarry 1-2 (2 free), David Lacey 0-5 (1 free), Donal Ryan 0-2, Daniel Brennan 0-2, Sean Hawkshaw 0-3, James Doran 0-1, Ciaran Archer 0-1



Aaron O’Neill (Carbury); Daniel Reilly (Clane), Mark Barrett (Ballymore Eustace), DJ Earley (Monasterevin); Darragh Ryan (Sarsfields), Niall O’Connor (Sarsfields), Conor Murphy (Sarsfields); Cian McQuillan (Sarsfields), David Kelly (Sarsfields); Brian McDonnell (Sarsfields), James Burke (Naas), Findlay Nairn (Kilock); Jack Barrett (Leixlip), Shane O’Sullivan (Clane), Darragh Kirwan (Naas). Subs: Adam Cronin (Naas) for Conor Murphy (36 minutes); Jack Cully (Carbury) for Shane O’Sullivan (43 minutes); David Foley (Sallins) for James Burke (45 minutes); Evin McGovern (Rathcoffey) for Niall O’Connor (47 minutes); Niall O’Sullivan (Maynooth) for Findlay Nairn (50 minutes); Ger Cunningham (Carbury) for Jack Barrett (53 minutes):



David O’Hanlon; Darren Maher, Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne, Liam Flatman; Kieran Kennedy, Neil Matthews, Eoin O’Dea; Donal Ryan, James Doran, James Madden; Ross McGarry, Sean Hawkshaw, David Lacey. Subs: Adam Byrne for Daniel Brennan (43 minutes); Ciaran Archer for Ross McGarry (52 minutes); Karl Lynch for Donal Ryan (black card 55 minutes); Darragh Conlon for James Madden (58 minutes); Aaron Lynch for Darren Maher (63 minutes).



John Leahy, Carlow.






To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.