05 Dec 2021

Naas outgun Coill Dubh to capture league title

Naas outgun Coill Dubh to capture league title

Shane Walsh, Naas

Naas had too much fire power for Coill Dubh in Saturday’s SHL Division 1 final eventually winning by nine points with a final score line of Naas 3-12 Coill Dubh 0-12.

Naas led at the break 1-7 to 0-5 but a goal and a point inside the opening two minutes of the second half from Richie Ryan and Kevin Byrne respectively, saw the county town boys open a nine point gap that was enver really threatened.

Scorers:  Naas, Richie Ryan 2-2 (2 frees), Kevin Byrne 1-2, Eoin O’Hehir 0-3 (2 frees, 65), Michael Purcell 0-2, Rian Boran 0-2, Kevin Aherne 0-1. Coill Dubh, Conor Carew 0-3 (3 frees), Tom Byrne 0-3 (free, 65), Éanna O’Neill 0-3, Declan Flaherty 0-2, Lorcan Behan 0-1.

NAAS: Cormac Gallagher; Donal McSweeney, Ross Bergin, John O’Malley; Shane Walsh, Darach Mac Donnacha, David Delahunty; Eoin O’Hehir, Mark Nevin; Kevin Aherne, Philip Cocoman, Richie Ryan; Kevin Byrne, Michael Purcell, Kieran Maher. Subs: Rian Boran for Kieran Maher (44 minutes); Odhran Loughran for Michael Purcell (55 minutes); Diarmuid Greene for Donal McSweeney (56 minutes); Conor Gormley for John O’Malley (60 minutes).

COILL DUBH: Damien Byrne; Ronan Guilfoyle, Dylan Brereton, Joseph Kenny; Dean O’Regan, Conor Gordon, Trevor McDonald; Kenny; Conor Carew, Luke O’Reilly, Ross Carew; Christopher Delaney, Noel Casey, Declan Flaherty. Subs: Tom Byrne for Noel Casey (halftime); Barry Mullins for Joseph Kenny (half time); Mark Grace for Trevor McDonald (halftime); Rúairí Hayden for Christopher Delaney (53 minutes); Lorcan Behan for Conor Carew (55 minutes); 

REFEREE: Fergus Devereux.

Full report in this week's Leinster Leader

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.