Search our Archive


€76,000 in funding for 42 Kildare towns and villages to mark 60th anniversary of Tidy Towns

A one off grant scheme

€76,000 in funding for 42 Kildare towns and villages to mark 60th anniversary of TidyTowns

Deputy Heydon is pictured with Taoiseach Leo Varadkar meeting members of Newbridge tidy towns at Newbridge Town Hall last week.

Forty two towns and villages in Kildare are set to benefit from €76,000 in Government funding to mark 60th anniversary of TidyTowns.

The funding was announced this week by the Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring TD.

This scheme will allow each local committee to apply for a grant of between €1000 and €4000 to support the work they do. The grant scheme is a once off investment by the Department of Rural and Community Development to mark the 60th anniversary of the TidyTowns competition in 2018 and is in addition to the support provided by the Department on an ongoing basis. Each of the towns have received from €1,000 to €4,000 each. Those in the highest category of €4,000 include the larger towns of Newbridge, Celbridge and Naas while Athy, Clane and IBAL champions Kildare town were all granted €3,000. Those in the lower category of €2,000 include Monasterevin, Rathangan and Sallins while smaller villages such as Milltown, Moone and Suncroft all received €1,000.

Kildare South TD Deputy Martin Heydon said that Tidy Towns committees and their network of volunteers in Kildare carry out amazing work in our communities and this funding is an acknowledgement of that valuable contribution.

“I would like to extend my sincere thanks to all those who give up their free time to make our communities better places to live. Being a volunteer with TidyTowns allows individuals to practice their passion for the good of their community, whether that passion concerns the built environment, landscaping, sustainable living, and local wildlife or organising a litter collection; there is a place for it in TidyTowns,” he said.

The break down of funds is as follows:

Kildare town €3,000; Eadestown €1,000; Kildangan €1,000; Coilldubh €1,000; Kilmeague €1,000; Narraghmore €1,000; Celbridge €4,000; Ardclough €1,000; Athy €3,000; Ballymore Eustace €2,000; Brannockstown €1,000; Broadford €1,000; Calverstown €1,000; Castledermot €2,000; Clane €3,000; Newbridge €4,000; Johnstown €2,000; Kilcullen €2,000; Kilkea €1,000; Kill €2,000; Kilmead €1,000; Leixlip €4,000; Maynooth €4,000; Milltown €1,000; Monasterevin €2,000; Moone €1,000; Naas €4,000; Rathangan €2,000; Sallins €2,000; Straffan €2,000; Suncroft €1,000; Timolin €1,000; Kilcock €3,000; Prosperous €2,000; Ballitore; €1,000; Robertstown €1,000; Carbury €1,000; Derrinturn €1,000; Nurney €1,000; Caragh €2,000; Newtown €1,000; Allenwood €1,000.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.