PICTURE GALLERY: Streets of Naas 5k in memory of Sheena Walsh

Crowds took to Naas streets to cheer on runners in inaugural race

The inaugural Streets of Naas 5 kilometre running event took place on Easter Sunday.

The event coincided with the annual parade event through the town. Organised by Naas Athletic Club, the 5k event was staged in memory of local woman Sheena Walsh and a specially commissioned trophy was presented to the race’s winner, Peter Somba representing Dunboyne AC, who won in a time of 15:21.

Naas AC won the top team prizes with Shane Coffey, Josh Derham, Adam Byrne and Rodrigo Santana Da Paz making up the mens team while Ruth O’Loughlin, Ciara Shortall, Joan Hickson and Tara Finn made up the winning womens team.

The first female home was Michelle Cox of Newbridge AC followed by Louise Long (Le Cheile) and Ruth O’Loughlin (Naas). Shane Coffey (Naas), Michael Coyle (Newbridge), Tom Gallagher (Naas), Gerry Halton (Naas) and Caoimhe Johnson (Naas) were among the various category winners.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.