PHOTO GALLERY: Newbridge Tidy Towns awards

Community effort applauded

Niamh O'Donoghue


Niamh O'Donoghue


The efforts of the unsung heroes of the Newbridge Tidy Towns Association campaign were honoured at a special reception last Wednesday October 26.

Residential estates, the Keadeen Hotel and Transition Year students from the Patrician Secondary School, The Holy Family Secondary School and Newbridge College were all honoured at the annual awards night in Johnsons Bar.

In his address to the assembled representatives from Residents Associations Ger Ahern, Chairman of the Tidy Towns, thanked those present for their input into improving the appearance of the town.

He also thanked the Municipal District councillors and council officials for their support, and all those who assisted in any way with the work of the Tidy Towns.

He thanked Catherine Johnson for hosting the awards night, and the musicians for entertaining the assembled group.

He said Newbridge Tidy Towns was an Association, rather than a committee – and they would welcome input and assistance from anybody who was willing to give of their time and effort.

The awards were presented by Mayor of the Kildare/ Newbridge Municipal District, Cllr Mark Stafford, who thanked residents associations and all others who were helping improve their local areas. He also pledged support for the Tidy Towns groups who were endeavouring to improve the appearance of their towns.

The adjudicators visited the estates in Newbridge during the summer months, and at the awards night Seven Springs Residents Association were adjudged to be the winning residential estate for 2016, with both Barretstown Meadows and Baroda Court being highly commended.

The Keadeen Hotel were presented with the Business Award in recognition of the major landscaping and environmental improvements to the hotel grounds, which have further enhanced the entrance to the town via the Kildare road.

John Phelan of Newbridge Tidy Towns thanked the four Transition Year students who participated in all activities of the Association during the school year 2015/2016 and Mayor Stafford presented medals, sponsored by Tony Donohoe, to Livi Coyle and Danielle Ó Farrell from the Holy Family Secondary School, Andrew Donovan from Newbridge College, and Mark Freeman from the Patrician Secondary as a token of the association’s thanks.

Photos: Tony Keane