06 Dec 2021

Dramatic win for Kildare U20s over Meath

Lilies hit the final six points of the game to win by two

Dramatic win for Kildare U20s over Meath

John Lawler (Eadestown) who had an impressive game for Kildare at no. 4 against Meath

Kildare booked their place in the final of the John Kierns U20 Development League with a dramatic win over Meath this afternoon at the excellent facilities at Dunganny.

On a cold but beautiful day for football this was as dramatic a game as you could get with both sides looking at times they had it won.

Kildare led at the break 2-6 to 0-8 with goals from Luke Griffin and Shane O'Sullivan but the home side hit back to get within a point after 39 minutes.

With Kildare ringing the changes Meath kicked on hitting 1-4 to go four points clear mid-way through.

Kildare however regained the initiative refusing to throw in the towel and in a storming finish hit the final six points of the game to win a dramatic encounter on a final score line of Kildare 2-17 Meath 3-12.

Kildare now take on Cork in the final, probably next Saturday at a venue to be announced.

Scorers: Kildare, Darragh Kirwan 0-7, Shane O'Sullivan 1-3 (2 frees), Luke Griffin 1-0, Alex Beirne 0-3, Aaron Browne 0-1 , Paudi Behan 0-1, Darren McDermott 0-1, Sam McCormack 0-1.

Meath, Cian Rodgers 1-3, Matt Moyles 1-0, Daithi McKeon 1-0, Aaron Lynch 0-4 (3 frees), Luke Mitchell 0-3 (1 free), Cathal Hickey 0-1, Barry O'Connell.

KILDARE: Kyle Costello (Leixlip);  Jack Hamill (Raheens), Cian Powell (Celbridge), John Lawler (Eadestown); DJ Earley (Monasterevan),  Jack Collins (Two Mile House),  Mark Cully (Carbury);  Darren McDermott (Leixlip), Tony O'Connor (Two Mile House);  Sam McCormack (Clane),  Darragh Kirwan (Naas), Colm Joyce (Naas);  Aaron Browne (Celbridge), Shane O'Sullivan (Clane), Luke Griffin (Naas). Subs: Adam Conneely (Two Mile House) for DJ Earley (16 minutes); Sean Moore (Athy) for Jack Hamill (half time); Cathal McCabe (Maynooth) Aaron Browne (38 minutes); Mark Grehan (Clogherinkoe) for Darren McDermott (39 minutes); Dan Coughlan (Kilcullen) for Colm Joyce (39 minutees); Alex Beirne (Naas) for Same McCormack (39 minutes); Paddy McDermott (Naas) for Mark Cully (39 minutes); Eoin Curley (St Laurence's) for Cian Powell (42 minutes); Findlay Nairn (Kilcock) for Paddy McDermott (59 minutes); Paudi Behan (Kilcullen) (59 minutes).

MEATH: Sean brennan; James O'Hare, Sean Bryan, Ben Wyer; Michael Murphy, Cathal Hickey, Conal Courtney; Dathi McKeon, Jack Flynn; Matt Moyles, Cian Rodgers, Paddy Matthews; Luke Mitchell, Aaron Lynch, Jordan Morris. Subs: Conor Farrelly for Conal Courtney (16 minutes); Barry O'Connell for Paddy Matthews (half time); Conor Hartford for Michael Murphy (38 minutes); Alan Mulvaney for Matt Moyles (55 minutes); Shane Smith for Barry O'Connell (63 minutes).

REFEREE: S Johnson (Louth).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.