05 Dec 2021

Kildare GAA: Naas add U21 title to their list

Celbridge pushed hot favs before going down by six points

Kildare GAA: U21

Naas Cathal Daly gathers procession ahead of Celbridge Ross Maycock during the Tony Donohoe U21 A Football Championship Final


Another piece of silverware for Naas as they added the Tony Donohoe U21 title to their U17 and minor, along with the Senior League title after defeating Celbridge by a somewhat flattering six points.

Naas came into this as roaring hot favs but Celbridge pushed them all the way and it took a goal in the 26 minute of the opening half to but a bit of daylight between the sides.

Naas led at the break 1-4 to 0-4.

Early points were exchanged on the resumption before Alex Beirne left four between them but a goal from Celbridge on 40 minutes from a Darragh Archbold penalty, left one in it.

Daragh Kirwan stretched the lead to two and while Celbridge refused to lie down it took a James Burke goal to set Naas on their way.

Celbridge got it back to three but there was no denying Naas as Niall Cronin's boys added three more points to win on a final score line of Naas 2-12 Celbridge 1-9.

Scorers: Nasas, Luke Griffin 0-5 (2 frees), Dallan Gallagher 1-1, James Burke 1-0, Darragh Kirwan 0-2, Luke Griffin 0-1 (45), Alex Beirne 0-1, Ciaran Doyle 0-1 (free), Tom Browne 0-1.

Celbridge, Darragh Murphy 0-6 (5 free), Darragh Archbold 1-1 (penalty), Tony Archbold 0-1, Liam O'Flynn 0-1.

NAAS: Luke Mullins; Cathal Daly, Conor McCarthy, Brian Stynes; Adam Cronin, David Shaw jt cpt., Paddy McDermott; Sean Cullen, James Burke; Alex Beirne, Darragh Kirwan, Dallan Gallagher; Darragh Merriman, Luke Griffin, Ciaran Doyle jt cpt Subs: Shane Ryan for Darragh Merriman (40 minutes); Eoin Archbold for Paddy McDermott (48 minutes): Tom Browne for Darragh Cleary (58 minutes); Jack Cleary for Alex Beirne (58 minutes); Drew Costello for James Burke (63 minutes).

CELBRIDGE: Tadhg Halpin; John Clarke, Lee Maycock, Kevin Gorman; Darragh Archbold, Cian Powell, Tony Archbold; Dean Donoghue, Darragh Murphy; Conor Doyle, Niall O'Regan, Adam Synnott; Cillian Devlin, Liam O'Flynn cpt, Ross Maycock. Subs: Paddy Wall for Ross Maycock (36 minutes); Johnny Owens for Niall O'Regan (64 minutes).

REFEREE: Billy O'Connell.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.